All iPads Getting rid of MBP, just use iPad (with Mac mini on TV). Doable?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by MikeinJapan, Jan 19, 2011.

1. MikeinJapan macrumors regular

Hey guys

I am thinking about getting rid of my MBP and just using my iPad and mini connect to my TV for things on the TV now and then. Has anyone dumped their computer for an iPad only set up?

I don't print and just surf the internet and the odd document here and there for school. I am a teacher. I need to scan so I need a real computer.

It seems a little early but I really do prefer the iPad.

2. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

How will you be able to scan, if you don't have a computer, just the iPad?

3. MikeinJapan thread starter macrumors regular

The mini as mentioned in the title of the thread and then again in the body of the thread? Did you read the post or scan it?

4. colmaclean macrumors 68000

colmaclean

Very doable.

I have a MacMini at home to act as my iPad's window into the wider world of computing. VNC is a wonderful thing. :)

5. MikeinJapan thread starter macrumors regular

Have you found any problems or irritations. I think I may sell the mini and move the laptop to the TV as I plan on moving in the future to another country.

6. colmaclean macrumors 68000

colmaclean

No great problems. Maybe yearning for a real keyboard every now and then, but if you keep your MBP you won't have that problem...

7. OmegaRed1723 macrumors 6502

OmegaRed1723

I did it, though not by choice. The logic board on my '07 MBP died, leaving me with my iPad and headless Mac mini in the living room. So far, my day-to-day hasn't changed one bit. I use iTeleport to VNC into the mini when I need to, and I use a bluetooth keyboard with the iPad for heavier typing duties. Also, Dropbox is great for keeping certain files in sync.

8. MikeinJapan thread starter macrumors regular

Besides the odd thing I don't do too often I am finding it difficult to see why not to do it.