gfxCardStatus v2.3 beta 1 – fixes 2010 MBP issues

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bitninja, Sep 16, 2012.

  1. bitninja macrumors regular

    bitninja

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, CA, USA
    #1
    Hi guys and gals!

    Just posted gfxCardStatus v2.3b1 up for download: http://codykrieger.com/downloads/gfxCardStatus-2.3b1.zip

    It has Notification Center support in Mountain Lion, fixes black/garbled screen issues 2010 MacBook Pro users were seeing, and more!

    I'm releasing the final update tomorrowish barring any major issues, so give it a go if you'd like. :)

    Cody
     
  2. Cassadian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    #2
    Any updates on whether or not certain issues were fixed for users with the Retina?

    Thanks for all the hardwork you've put into this program!
     
  3. bitninja thread starter macrumors regular

    bitninja

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, CA, USA
    #3
    I haven't done anything specifically in this release to address that, no – I haven't been able to reproduce it at all on my new rMBP. To be honest, there's probably nothing I can do to fix it if it's an OS-level issue. :/
     
  4. appletwig macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #4
    Strange that i can replicate screen tearing on every macbook retina i come across and you cant.
     
  5. bitninja thread starter macrumors regular

    bitninja

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, CA, USA
    #5
    Hmm? What screen tearing issues are you referring to? The ones people have been seeing in Safari? If so, that's most definitely not a gfxCardStatus issue.
     
  6. appletwig macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
  7. Ledgem macrumors 65816

    Ledgem

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Location:
    Hawaii, USA
    #8
    I only recently discovered this program and started using it, but it's fantastic. I'm looking forward to seeing what the update brings, and thank you very much for your work!
     
  8. bitninja thread starter macrumors regular

    bitninja

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, CA, USA
    #9
    You bet! :)
     
  9. Blue Sun macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    Cody,

    Thanks for making this little program - very handy. And a second thanks for regularly updating it (I'm using a 2010 MBP so the new version is very much appreciated).

    Cheers.
     
  10. Eithanius macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    #11
    What was the issue again on 2010 MBP...? I've been using gfxCardStatus for many months without issue...

    Any screenshots for that...?
     
  11. cenixentor macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    #12
    :)
     
  12. swamyg1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    #13
    Can you explain why power based switching was removed from the "advanced" section in preferences? I thought that was the whole point of having this little app... Unless I'm missing something?
     
  13. bitninja thread starter macrumors regular

    bitninja

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, CA, USA
    #14
    If that was the whole point of gfxCardStatus, I wouldn't have buried the settings under the Advanced tab in preferences. :p

    Power source-based switching was removed because a) it has never worked 100% properly, and was causing an unbelievable amount of problems for some people, and b) I get several hundred support emails about it per month. I just don't have the time to deal with that anymore. Rather than spend a ton of time trying to fix it, it's being removed altogether, because it's largely unnecessary if you're on 10.8 at this point.

    gfxCardStatus is, first and foremost, a diagnostic utility. The recommended way to use it is to just start it up, and not touch anything – leave it in Dynamic Switching mode. That way, you know when something is draining your battery, and you can send a note to the developer(s) of those apps, and ask them to fix it (unless the app has a good reason to use the discrete GPU, like Photoshop, Keynote, iPhoto, games, etc.).

    Having Integrated Only mode available is convenient when you really need to squeeze some extra battery life out of your machine, but it's not what you should be running in 100% of the time. There's a good reason that OS X's automatic graphics switching is on by default – so that there can be a relative balance between graphics performance and battery life. It just so happened that in the 10.6 and 10.7 days, it was mostly the former, because nearly every other app caused the discrete GPU to come on. In 10.8, that has largely been resolved.

    tl;dr – use Dynamic Switching.
     
  14. swamyg1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    #15
    Thanks for taking the time to explain this. Great development work, thanks for totally saving my battery and improving my Retina experience!
     
  15. bitninja thread starter macrumors regular

    bitninja

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, CA, USA
    #16
    You bet. :)
     
  16. terraphantm, Sep 24, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2012

    terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #17
    What about those of us who left it a dynamic while on battery and discrete only while plugged in? On the rMBP especially the UI is smoother with the discrete GPU running, and I don't particularly care about power consumption while plugged in.

    I think it would be better to leave the feature in along with a disclaimer saying it's an unsupported feature and you will not offer any guarantees about its functionality

    Then there are some apps, like VLC, that may very well make good use of the discrete GPU on slower machines, but work fine on newer iGPUs.

    I understand it's your app and of course you're free to do what you want. But I personally (as well as many others I presume) found some of the abilities in the old versions to be quite useful, and would really appreciate if you were willing to add such features back to the advanced tab along with a disclaimer of all warranties. Or even make it a part of a paid version or something
     
  17. Mabyboi macrumors 6502

    Mabyboi

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #18
    I personally loved using the power based switching, I just set it to force integrated when on battery and dedicated when plugged in. It helps a lot, I suggest putting it back in with a disclaimer or something..
     
  18. bitninja thread starter macrumors regular

    bitninja

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, CA, USA
    #19
    I imagine that the UI choppiness will improve over time as the graphics drivers get better – totally understand why you'd want to be on the discrete GPU while plugged in in this case. Intel's HD 4000 chipset is such a huge improvement over previous models, it's just a shame they had to go and add 4x as many pixels to the screen, because it makes it seem like it's a lot worse than it is in reality. :p

    Rather than working around the choppiness with a hack, though, you may want to just file a bug report with Apple at http://bugreport.apple.com if you have a developer account, or http://www.apple.com/feedback/macosx.html otherwise. If lots of people write in about the issue, they'll give it the attention it deserves, and then it'll be properly fixed without needing a 3rd-party app to fiddle with things.

    In what case does it help you a lot? Are there particular apps that you run that made you want to use power source-based switching? Almost every app (aside from Skype and Chrome, which are both garbage) that needs to use the discrete GPU at this point has a good reason to if you're on 10.8 (and if you're not, you should upgrade).

    The issue with just putting the disclaimer in there is that I would probably still get a large volume of support requests. People don't ever want to read disclaimers. The only way I could get anyone's attention about this was to entirely remove it, and make everyone think about whether or not they really need the feature anymore. For most everyone, the answer should be no.

    Think about it: this whole app wouldn't have even been necessary if GPU switching had worked really well out of the box in 2010 machines. Rather than hacking around the actual problem forever, gfxCardStatus is great to use as an informational tool to let you know when an app isn't behaving like you want it to. Then, you can get in touch with the author and/or Apple and tell them that the behavior isn't acceptable to you as it stands.

    If everyone does that, nobody will need gfxCardStatus at all in the future. Wouldn't that be great? ;)
     
  19. davidlv macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    Kyoto, Japan
    #20
    Despite the thread's title, non-beta ver. 2.3 is now available at the authors HP; :cool::D:cool:
    http://codykrieger.com/
    and Macupdate.com, etc.
    Am setting up a new 2011 refurbished MBP now, will install this soon. Thanks in advance for all of the hard work! :cool:
     
  20. rev.b macrumors regular

    rev.b

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Location:
    Portugal
    #21
    I just updated to 2.3 and I was very disapointed to find that it's impossible to force integrated only because:

    I'm sorry, but you are telling that gfxCardStatus (that I tought one of the most useful piece of software I have in my MBP and that I have gladly donated some $$) was, all of this time, basically doing... nothing? Forcing integrated mode only kept the discrete chip powered on, wasting battery?

    If it can't force integrated mode only, what's the point??

    Please explain this to me.
     
  21. rev.b macrumors regular

    rev.b

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Location:
    Portugal
    #22
    Ok, I think I just figured it out. It doesn't allow to force to integrated until you quit all the dependent apps; then if you force integrated, starting those apps again will not switch to discrete video card.

    Ok, that's very usefull if forcing integrated while running a "bad" app would not power down the discrete GPU, but I thought gfxcardstatus was doing it correctly from the beginning. So 90% of the time, I was actually running on low performance integrated intel and the Radeon GPU was actually draining battery... :eek:
     
  22. bitninja thread starter macrumors regular

    bitninja

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, CA, USA
    #23
    In many cases, probably, yeah. It's unfortunate that it took this long to get this new behavior into the app that prevents you from switching in that case. I had info on this in the FAQ for the longest time, too, but nobody ever read it. :/
     
  23. nontroppo macrumors 6502

    nontroppo

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #24
    Cody, thanks for a really useful great app, and keeping it up-to-date!!! :cool::cool::cool:
     
  24. rev.b macrumors regular

    rev.b

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Location:
    Portugal
    #25
    Yup, you're right. I didn't knew forcing integrated had this limitation.
    Thanks.
     

Share This Page