Give me advice: iMac 21" 3,06ghz vS 3,33ghz

Discussion in 'iMac' started by luckystar101, Nov 11, 2009.

  1. luckystar101 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    #1
    I want to order an iMac 21", do you think should I get 3,33ghz cpu for 180€ more or 3,06ghz is enough? I'll use it mostly for Photoshop/Flash and general use (internet, mail, music, ecc..). Maybe some games...Diablo III when it will be release :)!
     
  2. MacMini2009 macrumors 68000

    MacMini2009

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    California
  3. Jiten macrumors 6502a

    Jiten

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    #3
    If you don't need it right away it is probably wise to wait until people started benchmarking the new higher end builds of the iMacs.
     
  4. DannySmurf macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    #4
    It's a 9% theoretical speed difference for a 13-15% price increase. Even if that 9% were reflected in real-world usage (unlikely), it's not a good trade.

    Unless you've got some app that demands that extra 270 MHz...
     
  5. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #5
    Go with the 3.06 and use the saved money for more RAM. (Do the install yourself. Apple is way too expensive for RAM upgrades). That is where you'll get the best bang for your buck.
     
  6. luckystar101 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    #6
    Thanks, then I'll order iMac 21,5" with 3,06 Ghz CPU and 4670, plus I'll take 4gb of extra memory :cool: !

    I have read around of a noise problem of these new iMac, latest Snow Leopard upgrade solve this problem or is it a hardware problem ?
     
  7. SXR macrumors 6502a

    SXR

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #7
    I'm going for the 3,06 ghz iMac aswell. 3,06 ghz with 4 GB's of RAM should be more than enough. Thats a very very fast machine :)

    I also don't think that 3,33 ghz would make THAT much of a difference. :D
     
  8. jmonfire macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    #8
    noise

    The noise problem is only a few out of hundreds and thousands of imacs sold.
    The problem comes from defective capacitor
    Even if your imac does happen to be one of them, you can always get replacement but it's very unlikely
     
  9. SXR macrumors 6502a

    SXR

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #9
    So now the question arises, what is a defective capacitor? :confused:
     

Share This Page