Going to Hawaii with new Canon T2i. Lens advice?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by MacAztec, Mar 7, 2011.

1. MacAztec macrumors 68040

MacAztec

Hey guys,

So I'm new to the world of DSLR Photography, but I picked up a Canon T2i with the standard kit lens back in October 2010 for a really good price ($350 said and done!). I've taken some great pictures since then. I'm shooting mostly in manual mode, although on hikes and stuff, I switch it over to P or TV for the shear ease of those modes.

Anyways, I'm heading to Hawaii in 2 weeks, and I thought about picking up another lens for the trip. I plan on doing a lot of nature hiking, finding waterfalls, awesome beaches, etc. Of course, I'll be surfing and stuff while I'm there, so maybe my GF can snag some photos of me too.

What lens would you recommend to take on this trip (in addition to the kit lens)?

Thanks!

2. Laird Knox macrumors 68000

Sorry, I can't offer you any advice on Canon lenes (Nikon user).

General lense advice: Don't buy a cheap lens just because you want another lens for your trip. I made that mistake and now have a lens that I never use. I just had to have it before the trip and now I know it isn't worth half the price I paid.

In any case enjoy your trip and your pictures. :)

3. Cabbit macrumors 68020

Cabbit

If you can afford it one of the 70-200 L lens would be great for getting all those little details the standard kit would miss.

The 70-200 L F4 non IS can be had rather cheaply at £500, failing that perhaps a 55-250 EFS.

4. smithrh macrumors 68020

smithrh

Key question - have you been to Hawaii before?

5. FreeCyprs macrumors newbie

6. sarge macrumors 6502a

sarge