Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

quagmire

macrumors 604
Original poster
Apr 19, 2004
I AM SO NERVOUS. After weeks of being stuck on the last unit, I am finally up for the oral test and flight test to get my private pilots license. Here studying hoping I am studying the right materials and make sure I will be able to answer all the standards guy questions. I believe I will be able to do the flight easily, it is the oral I am so nervous about. What is going to kill me is the avionics and electrical system. This is worse then the SAT's/ACT's.

Did I say I was nervous?

adk

macrumors 68000
Nov 11, 2005
Stuck in the middle with you
I don't remember being quizzed too badly on avionics/electronics on my PPL ride. Know the basics of how a VOR and ADF work, and know the basics of GPS (ie what RAIM is). You're taking a test to be certified as a VFR pilot so don't get too hung up on extraneous stuff. Most people get hung up on requirements for different airspaces (different equipment requirements and weather minimums) and aeromedical factors. If you study up you'll be fine.

As far as the actual flight portion goes, all I can say is remember to take a deep breath every once in a while. Relax and take your time on every maneuver because the stress of a checkride can bury you. Make sure you're trimmed and level before every maneuver. The examiner will probably throw some things at you that you weren't expecting, but he's just making sure you're cool under pressure and that you can apply good aeronautical decision making.

Always remember that the examiner won't mind if you take your time and stay level headed. Never feel pressured to rush. Good Luck, and let us know how it goes!

Little HZ

macrumors regular
Nov 15, 2008
New Mexico
Good luck w/ that! I am envious--have been thinking about taking flying lessons, but can't quite make myself take the first step. Keep us posted!

wfoster