Good, Non-4K External Monitor (24-27") for 15" rMBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by JulesK, Dec 22, 2014.

1. JulesK macrumors 6502

I just picked up a new 15" rMBP (it has the separate GPU), and will be using it at home with an external monitor in clam-shell mode. I currently use a 24" ACD, which I can use with the rMBP, but am considering other options. Criteria:

-Higher resolution (but not 4K), in the 24-27" size. I want something that can be easily driven by the laptop.

-Maximum compatibility - as close to plug-and-play compatible as an Apple display would be (sleep/wake, miniDP connectivity, etc.).

-Built-in USB3 hub (powered, ideally).

Obviously, a nice pictures is important, but I am not a graphic professional and am not obsessive about color accuracy.

There obviously are many, many monitors out there that are much cheaper than anything Apple offers, but many seems to have issues when used with a rMBP. Even a refurbished TBD is really expensive, but at least I know it will work with the rMPB with few headaches (MagSafe converter aside). The Dell monitors seem to have great specs but often appear to have compatibility issues.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I've tried going through as many threads as possible, but wanted to ask the direct question.

2. dusk007 macrumors 68040

dusk007

Except for some 4k monitors with issues all monitors are compatible. They all go into standby when the signal from the notebook stops. They are all compatible. Some may need hdmi adapters as not all have Displayport but they all work. They are all plug and play, except maybe for some calibration. Over any digitial connector (aka everything but VGA) the notebook will know the right resolution and select it immediately.

In 24" you only find 1080p displays with some 16:10 models and the 27" equivalent is the 1440p version. There are some 1080p 27" which you should avoid but 21-24" all have the same resolution.