Got my repaired MBP 13 back...how do I know if they really replaced the logic board

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by netddos, May 23, 2010.

  1. netddos macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    #1
    I got my MBP 13" back from repair..

    From the paperwork, it seems like they replaced pretty much EVERYTHING.

    Replaced Display (there was a blotch on my screen)
    Replaced logic board (was constantly beach balling)
    Replaced 160GB HDD (was replaced with 250GB HDD...that's good I guess)


    My question is...is there any way to know if the logic board has been indeed replaced?

    I thought every logic board has their own specific serial #...mine didn't change....

    Many thanks.
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    If they said they replaced it, they replaced it.
     
  3. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #3
    The machine has a serial number, which you see in about this mac.

    When they swap the logic board, a repair tech app lets you put it back in. So it'll be blank or back to the System Serial.

    The part number and individual serials/barcodes on the board need a hand scanner and the Apple database to use.

    So if you see a new board in the repair sheet it'll only likely show as changed from the desktop as a change in firmware, bootrom, GPU firmware, etc.
     
  4. The Tuck macrumors 6502

    The Tuck

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    #4
    Your computer will still have the same serial number. It's how Apple keeps track of their machines for warranty and repair services. I agree with the person above me. If they said they replaced, it then they replaced it.

    -The Tuck
     
  5. dsprimal macrumors 6502a

    dsprimal

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    #5
    i understand the paranoia that comes with such things as repairs. wanting to know if it really was "repaired" or "replaced". but at the end of the day, u just gotta believe in the force!

    mac 4 life :apple:
     
  6. lcseds macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Location:
    NC, USA
    #6
    Because they have no reason to lie. Unless perhaps it was an out of warranty repair and you were paying for it. Relax and enjoy.
     
  7. GeekOFComedy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    Ireland
    #7
    If you buy off iTunes you would need to re-authorize and would add a "new computer"
     

Share This Page