graphic card needed for use with external monitor?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by cinek, Apr 5, 2011.

  1. cinek macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    #1
    If I want to use my mackbook pro with an external monitor, do I need the amd graphic card or will the intel built in one be fine? Is it worth getting the mbp without a graphic card?

    btw I won't be playing games on it
     
  2. Wafflausages macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    #2
    I'm pretty sure the HD3000 can handle an external monitor fine ;)
     
  3. cinek thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
  4. NZed macrumors 65816

    NZed

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Location:
    Canada, Eh?
    #4
    the HD3000 is the graphics card.
     
  5. cinek thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
  6. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #6
    the amd card must be used, the intel card cannot connect to external displays.
    if you attempt to force the intel card you will just get a black screen.
     
  7. JTSmeed macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    #7
    The 13" MBP only has the Intel video and can run an external display with it. On the 15" and 17" models, the use of the discrete AMD graphics is required when powering an external display.
     
  8. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #8
    When in doubt you can also check out Apple's website about the 13" MBP:
     
  9. Blipp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    #9
    I can confirm that my 17" will NOT run a second display unless the AMD GPU is on. I'm assuming this is not a hardware limitation of the Intel 3000 but rather a block put in place by Apple. Or perhaps the 1920x1200 (internal) + 1920x1080 (external) is too much for the 3000? I don't know, but as of now the discrete card must be running.
     
  10. altecXP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #10
    I use the intel chip to use my external display on my PC laptop at work, so if the MacBooks cant do external on the intel its a limitation Apple put in place.


    If I remember right none of the Core i laptops, including last gen, can use an external on the integrated GPU.
     
  11. TXBDan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #11
    a 13" with only the Intel graphics can run an external monitor just fine.

    a 15" or 17" has to switch to the AMD discrete graphics to run an external because its the only graphics card connected to the display port. The integrated Intel graphics are not in the 15" and 17" config.
     
  12. altecXP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #12
    Hmm that shouldn't matter. a PC can output any GPU in it to a VGA, DVI or HDMI port. I wonder what would make the TB port and different.
     
  13. larryj macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #13
    I've been confused about this too and there seems to be a lot of conflicting information.

    My 20011 15" switches to the integrated Intel 300 HD fine if I'm using the built-in display (1440x900).

    But if I'm connected to my 27" Cinema Display (2560x1440) and force the MBP to the integrated graphics with gfxCardStatus, the display locks up and I have to shut the system down using the keyboard. This is with the MBP closed.

    Also, if I'm using the built-in display and have gfxCardStatus set to dynamic switching, my system will always switch to the discrete card (6750M) after a reboot. If I force it to use the integrated graphics, it switches fine and stays there. I'm just curious about why it's switching to the AMD card.

    So should I be able to use the integrated graphics to drive my 27" ACD?
     
  14. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #14
    If you'd read the whole thread, you would've noticed a poster said that only the AMD card was connected to the thunderbolt(display) port, since the intel card can't even communicate with an external display, you can't use it. Simple as that.

    It's not a software limitation, there are just no "wires" so to speak going from the external display port to the Intel card.
     
  15. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #15
    THe 13" models use the HD3000 to drive externals whilst the 15/17" models use the AMD card whether you like or not.
     
  16. JTSmeed macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    #16
  17. larryj macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #17
    Sorry, I missed that this was specific to the 13" earlier. I thought that was conflictig with TXBDan's post.
     
  18. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #18
    From what I saw through gfxcardstatus, my external monitor was listed as a dependency, thus forcing it into Radeon 6750M :( sad case, because this is gonna drain my battery. I think Apple should do something about this.
     
  19. GuitarG20 macrumors 65816

    GuitarG20

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #19
    i've run my MBP with the discrete graphics on and still gotten 6.5 hours out of the battery...
     
  20. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #20
    That is only true on the 15 and 17" models.
     
  21. GuitarG20 macrumors 65816

    GuitarG20

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #21
    everyone is arguing but they are in agreement!

    if your MBP has a graphics card, it must be on in order to power an external. If it does not, you do not need to have it on, since you do not have one.
     

Share This Page