Has anyone tried to quit caffeine and how did you live through withdrawals?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Hieveryone, Feb 17, 2019.

1. Hieveryone macrumors 68040

I've been drinking a lot of coffee for many years. I've severely cut it down, and it's my 5th day.

Having a very hard time.

2. jkcerda macrumors 6502a

jkcerda

Drink water , cut coke or keep it to one cup per day.

3. rayriceroni00 Suspended

rayriceroni00

You need to step down gradually. It's a drug, and sudden stoppage will cause major headaches and cramps galore.

Try reducing by one half to 1 full cup of caffeine a day. If you drink 3 cups of coffee a day and 2 sodas, try 2+2 or something like that.

4. Huntn macrumors P6

Huntn

My withdrawal from caffeine was week long off and on headache. Stay hydrated, take aspirin or equivalent, and exercise. The only thing I’ve noticed since then, is that there are times when I feel like I'm sagging, and I have nothing that gives me a boost and just have to live with it, maybe nodding off in my chair. ;)
    --- Post Merged, Feb 17, 2019 ---
    For myself, cold turkey was the best way. I did not want to mess with any slippery slopes, of less or more. I’ve since come to realize that my attraction to coffee was not that it tastes good, but that it provides a boost.

5. rayriceroni00 Suspended

rayriceroni00

I tried a complete cut off once. For 3 days my legs were so cramped I couldn't believe it. I also had a 24/7 headache.

Anymore I stick to like 2 cups of coffee a day and MAYBE a soda here or there. Caffeine is no good. As you get older, it can mess with your stomach giving you heart burn and all sorts of other fun stuff.

6. Huntn macrumors P6

Huntn

When I quit coffee, my acid reflux receded substantially.

7. rayriceroni00 Suspended

rayriceroni00

I should probably cut back further, but ugh I love a good cup of coffee in the morning.

8. Huntn macrumors P6

Huntn

Small 8oz cup, not a 16oz mug. :) I was drinking 2 of those a day.