Has anyone upgraded their 2012 13" RAM to 16GB yet?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by DougFNJ, Jun 20, 2012.

  1. DougFNJ macrumors 6502a

    DougFNJ

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #1
    Just curious how well it works and want to confirm no issues? I'm considering upgrading using Crucial....
     
  2. mnsportsgeek macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    #2
    why would there be any issues? There are many people running 16gb ram on their 2011 13"
     
  3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #3
    There are no issues running 16GB. Whether you need it or not is another story.
     
  4. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #4
    why would you think there would be issues? did you read that somewhere?

    many people have 16GB on their 2011's

    ----------

    opps guess i should of read you post before i pretty much said the same thing
     
  5. HighTopFade macrumors regular

    HighTopFade

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    Daly City
    #5
    Sorry if I go a little off topic. Is the 2012 13" MBP memory backwards compatible for use with a 2009 or 2010 MBP? Thanks.
     
  6. DougFNJ thread starter macrumors 6502a

    DougFNJ

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #6
    Coming from a Mid-2010 where maximum RAM is 8. Thanks :)
     
  7. m4tic macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Location:
    SoCal
    #7
    Ram is cheap, 16GB was an easy decision imho.
     
  8. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #8
    Probably. My 2009 13" MBP is currently running PC10600(1333MHz), and it originally shipped with PC8500(1066MHz) RAM.
     
  9. Marc Dose macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    #9
    I've read in another thread, but never got confirmed, that the chipset in the 2012 cMBP supports 32 gb ram? Can anyone confirm that? Would be sweet if that was a possible upgrade for the future.
     
  10. latestmonkey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    #10
    the stock mbp is one 4gb stick right?

    I just want to drop another 8GBs in there for 12GB.
     
  11. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #11
    What used to be termed the Northbridge of a traditional chipset (which includes the memory controller) is now integrated into the CPU. Check the Intel spec sheet for the CPU and you'll have your answer.
     
  12. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #12
    Pretty sure it is 2 x 2GB sticks.
     
  13. TheRdungeon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    #13
    It's better to do matched pairs but this is still possible
     
  14. latestmonkey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    #14
    yeah. I guess I can do 10GB. Don't really need 16 right now but don't want to buy 2x4s and then be stuck with 4s I don't need in 2 years.
     
  15. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #15
    You lose the ability to run dual channel if you don't have matched RAM.
     
  16. latestmonkey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    #16
    ahh f it. ram is cheap. I'll just buy 2x8GBs. :D

    thanks
     
  17. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #17
    Haha. Glad I could help with that.
     
  18. phas3 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #18
    where's the best place to buy the best 16gb modules for the macbook pro 13" 2012
     
  19. tjwnghks macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    #20
    How much does having 16gb boost the performance as compared to 8gb??
     
  20. phas3 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #21
  21. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #22
    That completely depends on what you have running at any point in time. For many (probably most) users, there would be zero performance improvement with 16GB over 8GB.
     
  22. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #23
    yes. it's what I am using
     
  23. vimmadi13 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    #24
    I tried upgrading 16gb(OWC modules) on my MBP 13" 2012 Mbp 9.2 with 10.8.2 OS...unable to boot after upgrade!!...it was giving beep sound..rt now its working on 8 gb (on single slot)

    Anybody got the same issue? r anybody got solution to fix this issue...

    Plz help me to fix this issue...thanks in adv..
     
  24. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #25
    First step is simply re-seat the RAM. If that doesn't fix it try one stick at a time. If they both work, try one stick in each slot to see if one of your RAM slots is having issues with that specific module.

    If all else fails, return it and try a different brand. OWC is pretty expensive anyway, I'd probably go with some Corsair or even g.skill from newegg.
     

Share This Page