Having To Restart Macbook Pro A Lot to get Wifi Signal

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by pro3g, Oct 23, 2008.

  1. pro3g macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Location:
    South Florida
    #1
    Has anyone had this issue I thought it was the router but I just got a new one and I am having the same issue. My macbook pro shows the network but is not connecting to it. It says connected but doesnt have any signal but then when I restart the computer the signal works fine? This just started happening it doesn't happen everytime but it has happend a few times recently and all the other computers I have work when this happens also.

    any feedback would be great.
     
  2. cantthinkofone macrumors 65816

    cantthinkofone

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    #2
    try repairing the permissions. have you added any kind of software or changed any settings on the computer?
     
  3. pro3g thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Location:
    South Florida
    #3
    I got a new router but the issue was happening before that, other then that I have not added anything.

    What do you mean by repairing the permissions what should I do?
     
  4. NEAME macrumors member

    NEAME

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Location:
    Redding CA
    #4
    'Spotlight' disk utilites. Select your volume and click 'repair permissions' on bottom left side. Don't bother with verify, just repair. Then reboot.
     
  5. pro3g thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Location:
    South Florida
    #5
    What does repairing permissions do? I am going to do that when I get home what would usually cause this to happen?
     
  6. mmzplanet macrumors regular

    mmzplanet

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Location:
    Florida
    #6
    It makes sure that critical files have proper access permissions. When those get altered it can prevent software or a device from getting to a file it needs to operate.

    What causes it? I'm sure other installers can cause it. Others may have more of an answer for that.
     
  7. mmzplanet macrumors regular

    mmzplanet

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Location:
    Florida
  8. NEAME macrumors member

    NEAME

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Location:
    Redding CA
    #8
    Yeah. Seems like it's a good idea to run permissions on a regular basis as a general maintenance.
     
  9. pro3g thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Location:
    South Florida
    #9
    I am not sure how to reset the permissions I go into spot light but there is nothing that says disk utilities can you please give me directions on how to do this.
     
  10. skwij macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Belleville, ON, Canada
    #10
    Spotlight is a SEARCH. Type in Disk Utility.

    or, just go to Applications>Utilities>Disk Utility.
     
  11. emt1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #11
    Don't you have to boot off of a different volume to repair permissions on your startup disk?
     
  12. jodelli macrumors 65816

    jodelli

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    Windsor, ON, Canada
    #12
    Nope. I just repaired permissions on my boot drive using the Disk Utility on that drive.
     

Share This Page