He3lp my6 macbo9k i8s t5y6pi8ng fu7nny6

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by kkbb, Jul 30, 2011.

  1. kkbb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    #1
    i8 r4e3ce3nt5ly6 bo9u7ght5 a macbo9o9k and thi8s st5ar4t5e3d t5o9 happe3n w2hat5 do9 y6o9u7 t5hi8nk i8 sho9u7ld do9?

    i recently bought a macbook and this started to happen what do you think i should do?

    its a c2d 2.26 mid 2009, it is isolated in the number from 1-8 and the first letter row directy underneith, q-l
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    What keyboard and language setting do you use?

    Have yo tried a clean install yet?

    To create a Clean Install (formerly known as Erase & Install) of Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard (the 29 USD Upgrade DVD is a fully working retail version of Mac OS X and does not need a prior installation of Mac OS X on the Mac), follow one of the following guides:
    Short version: Clean Install of OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard
    Long version: Mac OS X v10.6 Snow Leopard: How to Erase and Install

    And how can yo write normally, like you did in your post?
     
  3. VeganHipster macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    #3
    He is either

    A. Erasing the numbers, because as you can see, the whole word is in there, it is just scambled up with numbers.

    B. or he is just trolling.
     
  4. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #4
    Liquid spill? That can short the keyboard out and make that happen.
     
  5. kkbb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    #5
    i deleted every number/letter from the text, i dont want people to think im trolling :/, the hdd im using is from a 2008, macbook, i cant do a clean install as i have nowhere to backup my drive
     
  6. ahdickter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    #6
    Do you have a flashdrive? Depending on how much space you need, you can put all you docs and music on it. Or try dropbox.
     
  7. kkbb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    #7
    I tryd booting up the cd and naming a partion just to see if it was a conpatibility issue, and i get the same thing :/, i have to much info to put on a drive 180gb++
     
  8. ahdickter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    #8
    Run hardware diagnostics? Put in the Application Install Disk and hold down 'D' has the mac boots up
     
  9. gorskiegangsta macrumors 65816

    gorskiegangsta

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #9
    I don't think he is. If you take a look at this sentence "i8 r4e3ce3nt5ly6 bo9u7ght5 a macbo9o9k and thi8s st5ar4t5e3d t5o9 happe3n w2hat5 do9 y6o9u7 t5hi8nk i8 sho9u7ld do9?" you'll see that the keys in the numeric row are somehow bridged with the keys of the top alpha row. This is due to either a loose connector or water damage.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. theLimit macrumors 6502a

    theLimit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Location:
    up tha holler, acrost tha crick
    #10
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7E18 Safari/528.16)

    First step is to get something to backup your files. You've been running for four years with no backup? I hope you get it done before anything irreplaceable is lost. A 500 GB HDD is less than $40 currently.

    Second step, create a new user account and see if the problem happens while running under it.

    If the problem persists, erase and install. If that doesn't fix it, arrange for repairs or crack it open and see what's going on inside.
     
  11. stevemiller macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #11
    i wish the op lots of luck in getting the issue resolved, but i still can't help but laugh. anyone else think there would probably be some 14 yr olds out there who'd actually consider such typing behaviour a feature? :p
     
  12. kkbb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    #12
    If i were to say swap the keyboard with a 2010 still under warrenty, would i be able to get the 2010 fixed? Would apple know they were switched?
     
  13. VeganHipster macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    #13
    That was a joke obviously. Did you not read what I posted on A.?
     

Share This Page