Heart rate spikes at start of Workout App run

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by TxWatch, Dec 9, 2016.

1. TxWatch macrumors 6502

TxWatch

I recently bought the HeartWatch App and have been tracking my heart rate during the day, at night and during my 60 min Workout App runs. I have been running for more than 20 years, so I am in excellent shape and do not have any heart related issues.

I noticed on my Workout App outdoor run today, the HR reading on the Watch showed my heart rate between 190-200 for the first 10 minutes of my run. At almost exactly 10 minutes, my heart rate drops down to a more normal 150 and then slowly climbs to a peak of 165, as expected. The temperature this morning was 36 degrees, which is unusually cold for Texas.

For my other two runs this week, I also saw unusual spikes at the start of my runs, but they were not as extreme and did not last as long before returning to normal.

Is this a known problem with the AW HR sensor when running? Today was the first really cold day, so maybe it is also temperature related?

2. Long Run Nick macrumors regular

I have no experience with the app you refer to. Wrist HR sensors, as well as HR straps can be a little temperamental when it is cold. I found making sure the contacts were wet with the strap, not a great feeling when you head outside. As far as wrist HR, you may need to tighten it a little more. If you notice your fingers turning blue the watch strap may be too tight or your fingers are getting frost bite:)

3. TxWatch thread starter macrumors 6502

TxWatch