Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

reajesse

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 8, 2003
hello all,
I am an creative advertising student soon to buying my first mac. I'm planning on getting a 1.8 G5. I was wondering if there were any other ways besides buying my additional 512 RAM from an outside source, and is that even a good idea? Will outside RAM cause possible problems with the system operating at maximum efficiency? I am planning on getting the combo drive instead of the superdrive to also help. Are there any other ways I can reduce the overall cost by buying third party or other options for the G5 that are really not necessary for someone not in a business type setting yet?

thanks for any help, i really appreciate it

also, is installing third party RAM easy? i've never done any of my own installation of hardware, i know my way around the OS and software and that's about it

jesse

Sun Baked

macrumors G5
May 19, 2002
About all you can delete is the SuperDrive.

Not getting an LCD display and using any monitor you currently have will defer front end cost.

Buying with a student discount would also help.

XnavxeMiyyep

macrumors 65816
Mar 27, 2003
Washington
If your a student, you may be able to get an education discount. Outside RAM should work fine if it's the right type(PC3200). Also, RAM is easy to install on a PM G4, so I would imagine it would be easy to install on a G5. You could also use the payment plan and pay $50 or so per month for a few years.

Pete_Hoover

macrumors regular
Apr 29, 2003
No, outside RAM will not mess things up. It is the same thing that is in the machine to begin with, only you buy it from another source and save $$$.

morlium

macrumors regular
Dec 18, 2002
if you buy it from an online reseller (NOT the Apple Store), you'll save on tax.

Lyle

macrumors 68000
Jun 11, 2003
Madison, Alabama
Re: Help, any other ways to reduce the cost of a G5?