Help: best prepaid mobile carrier in the UK?

diazj3

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 19, 2008
Hi.

I'm studying in London for six months, starting next week, and taking my unlocked (ex-AT&T) iPhone4 to use there. Whats the best (price and service) carrier from which I can buy a local SIM card for prepaid voice and data?

thanks,

nickdylan

macrumors regular
Mar 17, 2012
Do you use a lot of data? Three offers unlimited 3G data with unlimited tethering. 3G might not sound appealing, but 3G in London is faster than 4G in many parts of the USA. When I go to the UK I use Three, and pay something like $24 a month for unlimited data. It's fast enough that I can tether my laptop and stream 1080p video, torrent files, and do anything else I'd want to do.

diazj3

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 19, 2008
this

https://www.three.co.uk/Support/Free_SIM/Order

or if you don't mind adverts when using 4g, you can get a free service

http://www.ovivomobile.com

i don't know how good their coverage is though

Thanks. I hope there are no unreasonable requirements for acquiring or paying for the SIM card as a foreigner.

It's my old iPhone 4 which I had unlocked, so no 4g possible.

Do you use a lot of data? Three offers unlimited 3G data with unlimited tethering. 3G might not sound appealing, but 3G in London is faster than 4G in many parts of the USA. When I go to the UK I use Three, and pay something like $24 a month for unlimited data. It's fast enough that I can tether my laptop and stream 1080p video, torrent files, and do anything else I'd want to do.

Thanks. Yes, mostly data, but not huge amounts of it - I guess around 500MB to 1GB per month. And 3G is ok.

Three sounds pretty good. Hope buying the SIM card as foreigner is no problem as in other countries, or that the payment is possible with foreign credit cards, etc.

bandofbrothers

macrumors 601
Oct 14, 2007
Uk