Help: best prepaid mobile carrier in the UK?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by diazj3, Dec 29, 2013.

1. diazj3 macrumors 6502a

Hi.

I'm studying in London for six months, starting next week, and taking my unlocked (ex-AT&T) iPhone4 to use there. Whats the best (price and service) carrier from which I can buy a local SIM card for prepaid voice and data?

thanks,

2. jondunford macrumors 6502

jondunford

3. nickdylan macrumors regular

Do you use a lot of data? Three offers unlimited 3G data with unlimited tethering. 3G might not sound appealing, but 3G in London is faster than 4G in many parts of the USA. When I go to the UK I use Three, and pay something like $24 a month for unlimited data. It's fast enough that I can tether my laptop and stream 1080p video, torrent files, and do anything else I'd want to do.

4. diazj3 thread starter macrumors 6502a

Thanks. I hope there are no unreasonable requirements for acquiring or paying for the SIM card as a foreigner.

It's my old iPhone 4 which I had unlocked, so no 4g possible.

Thanks. Yes, mostly data, but not huge amounts of it - I guess around 500MB to 1GB per month. And 3G is ok.

Three sounds pretty good. Hope buying the SIM card as foreigner is no problem as in other countries, or that the payment is possible with foreign credit cards, etc.

5. bandofbrothers macrumors 601

bandofbrothers

You should have no issue obtaining a pay as you go sim as they are free from Network shops.

However some do insist on you topping up the sim card with £10 of credit.

You may find using a non uk credit card to top up a problem{not always the case} but buying vouchers from either the network shop or newsagents is easy. Or topping up via an ATM is a choice.

6. nebo1ss macrumors 68030

Lots of people recommending Three on here. My experience is that they are the worst carrier in London. The best prices yes, but you get what you pay for.