Help! Can't reinstall 3.1.3 --> 3.1.3 and phone is dead

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by hiltxan, Dec 6, 2010.

1. hiltxan macrumors newbie

Hi all,

I have a 3GS (not sure of the bootrom) and never before jailbroken. I was going to update to 4.1 today, but before I did, I tried to jailbreak it to save the SHSH on cydia and now it's turned into a paperweight.

I'm not sure what I can do right now - I want to either keep it as 3.1.3 or update to 4.1 but I don't want to update to 4.2.1

My problems are:
    - I can't get 3.1.3 to reinstall. I'm not technically downgrading, but I just want to install the current version on it. I tried using a lower version of itunes, but I still end up getting 1600, 1604 errors. Then I tried iReb to no success.
    - I would upgrade to 4.1, but I think iTunes doesn't sign off on it anymore. Argh..it was just working a few days ago when I jailbroke it for a friend.

Now what are my options?

Thanks!

2. Myzhi macrumors 6502a

Without saved old SHSH files, you can't restore to anything other than 4.2.1. That would be your only option.

And, regarding saving SHSH files, your phone does not have to be JB to do it. You can use a program called Tinyumbrella. Also, what SHSH firmware files you can save has nothing to do with what current firmware is on the phone, by only what Apple is sending out, currently only 4.2.1.

3. domness macrumors 6502a

domness

Yeh you can't even reinstall now to a firmware like that unless you have all the blobs and that. Why don't you want 4.* ?

4. hiltxan thread starter macrumors newbie

I entered the ECID manually and then it found SHSH's for 4.2.1 and 4.2b3. Why is that? I never installed these firmware versions on it and the most current version that was running was 3.1.3

Am I out of luck now?

I'm fine with 4.1 but not 4.2 because I can't unlock it and the jailbreak for it is kind of still working out the bugs.

5. Zermelo macrumors regular