HELP! How can I use a US AT&T iPhone in India

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by bgsivaranjani, Sep 23, 2011.

  1. bgsivaranjani macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    #1
    Hey frnds ! One my uncle bought me an iphone from USA i m in India now! he brought me the phone in a perfect working condition! But when i tried to update the software my phone crashed i gues! It asked me to insert the sim card but it says that my sim is not supported and also Even in Itunes i get an error aying that my sim is not supported how to solve this prob and use the phone in India???The phone wants a sim card which is used in USA ;-(((
    Plz do help me out in this!!
     
  2. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
    #2
    You need an AT&T SIM... Which won't work in India :/
     
  3. DollFaceDork macrumors 6502

    DollFaceDork

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    Narnia
  4. macingman, Sep 24, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2011

    macingman macrumors 68020

    macingman

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    #4
    The software was updated meaning the baseband was too therefore software unlocks are out of the question. The OP needs a Gevey Sim and they can't no matter what upgrade OS's,
     
  5. AppleFanatic10 macrumors 68030

    AppleFanatic10

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Location:
    Encino, CA
    #6
    He must have not bought you an unlocked iPhone. There's really nothing you can do, unless you jailbreak it and unlock it; unlocking it all depends on the baseband that your iPhone is on.
     
  6. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #7
    You'll need to unlock with gevey. Unfortunately, your uncle purchased you a phone that is locked to the AT&T network.
     
  7. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
    #8
    I thought phones purchased from Apple Stores were unlocked, anyway?
     
  8. thewitt macrumors 68020

    thewitt

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    #10
    Both options are available. Cheaper phones tied to either Verizon or AT&T or unlocked GSM phones.

    -t
     
  9. as185303 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    #11
    My brother bought a iphone 3gs At&t from USA can I use it in India?

    My brother bought a iphone 3gs 16GB At&t from USA last month

    * Can I use it in India?
    * On which network will I be able to use it in India?
    * Please provide details if I need to do any jailbreaks or Unlocks for this.
    * Will the iPhone work properly without any crashes?
    * Will I be able to update the iphone?
    ** Please provide any additional information if any as am not that technically knowledgable.:confused:
     
  10. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #12
    device type or model + firmware and baseband are needed before anything can be said as far as how to unlock. Without that you won't get good info.
     
  11. as185303 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    #13
    How do I find that. I do not know how to operate.
     
  12. SAIRUS macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    #14
    Bi sab,
    You need an unlocked phone. AT&T locks their phones if you buy the discount model, but if you pay full price for the phone, it should be unlocked.

    They won't unlock a discount model.:(
     
  13. as185303 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    #15
    Does that mean This iPhone is of no use? We cannot use this here in India
     

Share This Page