Help! How Do I Get Audio Out Of My Mac Into A Channel On My Mixer?

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by notez, May 13, 2010.

  1. notez macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    #1
    Hi guys,
    I was wondering if you could help me out a bit. I've been searching the web all night and just can't seem to find anything on how to get audio OUT of my mac and into a channel on my mixer because ive only got one aux output, how can i plug 4 rcas in from there? :s the reason for my question is because im planning to mix a bit with my macbook live with virtual dj as well as mixing as normal with my vinyl.
    Thanks,
    notezy
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
  3. notez thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    #3
    well in a way i do but how do i get it so i can use virtual dj using the two channels on my mixer instead of having to mess about with the on screen mixer which is hell. those aux to rca cables mean i could only connect one channel?
     
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #4
    Most 3.5mm to RCA cables allow to transfer two channels (stereo - left & right) so you would have two channels to work with.

    Also the 3.5mm audio out port on the Mac works as a line out. Just hit play in that DJ software and adjust the volume via the external mixer.
     
  5. notez thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    #5
    when you say two channel do you mean Red and White or what i mean which is the use of four rcas in total?
    (cheers for the help btw)
     
  6. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #6
    One RCA plug transfers one channel, thus the red and white/black RCA plugs transfer two channels, if the 3.5mm plug is a stereo plug (two black rings around the metal spike).

    But I think I don't understand your "four RCA plugs" confusion.

    As you have a mixer, it should have two input channels (with two audio channels (left and right) per channel (confusing maybe)) to get the input of two stereo audio devices, like another deck or something, so you can mix those two sources.
     
  7. mesq macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    #7
    If you want to run two stereo channels from Virtual DJ into a mixer you will need to buy an audio interface with 2 stereo outputs? How more logical can it get?

    You can either have 2 mono out puts or 1 stereo output. Simple.
     
  8. wilycoder macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #8
    /thread
     

Share This Page