Help, I forgot my light meter, and I am now in France !!! - Import duties ??

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by igmolinav, Nov 10, 2009.

  1. igmolinav macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #1
    Hi,

    I forgot a book, a few CD's to learn French, and my lightmeter at home !!!

    I have asked my mother to send it to me. She has everything ready to be sent. My only question is how much will I need to pay for import duties ??

    My lightmeter is a sekonic, alrady ten to twelve years old. I don't even recall which model it is because the paint showing that on the light meter is gone. My mother is sending the stuff by regular mail.

    Please advise me what to do on this matter !!!

    Thank you very much, very kind regards,

    igmolinav.
     
  2. sarabella macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Location:
    Newcastle, UK
    #2
    You shouldn't need to pay import duties since you've owned the equipment for quite some time and since it's not for sale.
     
  3. carlgo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    #3
    Do you have a meterless camera? Am asking because it would be interesting if you were touring a country with a vintage or view camera.
     
  4. igmolinav thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #4
    Hi,

    I am using my camera to do portraiture with a flashlight and a very small tripod, and I forgot the light meter. My camera is a Nikon D50.
    What should my mother write on the package ??

    Thank you again, kind regards,

    igmolinav.
     
  5. sarabella macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Location:
    Newcastle, UK
    #5
    She should have to fill out some sort of customs form at the post office. It generally asks if it's for personal use - at least, that's been my experience.
     
  6. sarge macrumors 6502a

    sarge

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    #6
    Wait a minute

    why do you need a light meter if you're using a flashlight and a digital camera?
    Am I missing something here?

    BTW, I've been using a flashlight for a couple of years in my photowork and love it. Just be careful you don't burn out the sensor if you're using a digital camera. These 100+ lumen jobs pack quite a punch.
     
  7. igmolinav thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #7
    Hello,

    Thank you again for your messages : ) !!!

    I'll ask my mother to be careful when filling out the papers.

    I may be the one missing something. I'm sorry, I apologize.
    I may have confused matters. What I carry with me is a
    strobe, not a flash. I attach a softbox to the strobe. Would
    it be possible to use my D-50 without the external lightmeter.
    Actually, I have had the lightmeter for ten to twelve years,
    and the D-50 only for three. I'm just used to using it, and if
    not needed I could stop using it.

    Thank you again, kind regards,

    igmolinav.

    P.S. I have a vintage camera that doesn't have a light meter.
    It is fun to travel with it. If you get into a shooting spree, it
    can be a bit tiring to be taking so many measures with the light
    meter.
     

Share This Page