Help! i7 Macbook Pro Geekbench really low

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by MacPoor, Mar 14, 2011.

1. MacPoor macrumors newbie

I just traded in my 2011 13 MBP for the 2011 17 MBP (2.2) and my geekbench scores are dropping. Yesterday, unplugged, it came in at 10025 in 32 bit, today it is hovering around 7000. When I plug it in it goes back up to 10000+. What is going on? Shouldn't it be the same? It was fine yesterday unplugged.

I saw another thread where someone had the same problem, but it was the 8gb OWC ram he installed giving him issues.

My laptop is completely stock and NO programs are running except for geekbench.

I noticed that the the integer and floating processor are way down when unplugged?

I'm not really an expert in this stuff, so if anyone can help me out I'd really appreciate it. And yes, I know benchmarks are not the most important things in the world, but a drop off that big doesn't seem right. Also, when you pay $2500 everything should be near perfect.

I'm not here to bag on the computer either. I really love the laptop, I just want everything to be right. The only other issue is the return key is warped and sticks up at a weird angle, but that seems like it could be easily fixed.

Thanks

2. Juanto macrumors newbie

I saw the other thread and even thought you said you don't have any RAM modifications it doesn't rule it out. If you're that worried about it, buy a new set of ram and see. Like the other users mentioned the lower numbers are more realistic for what you might see under load.

3. fel10 macrumors 65832

fel10

I had the same problem. It ended up being my 8GB RAM. So what I did was, I took my 8GB RAM out and put the 4GB that came with the MBP, and that solved the problem. Try putting a new set of RAM, if u have one.

4. MacPoor thread starter macrumors newbie