Help: iPhone 5 keypad for code gone

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by 7enderbender, Apr 14, 2013.

1. 7enderbender macrumors 6502a

7enderbender

I'm new to this so bear with me but I couldn't find anything about this one. I've been struggling with my new iPhone for most of the weekend and finally went on to reset everything to reinstall from a backup in iTunes.

Problem now is that it is asking me to set up a new passcode (under a corporate policy restriction that requires a 5+ digit code). Before the reset I was able to use a 6 numbers code on a regular large 10 digit keypad. Now it's asking me to create a new one but only gives me the silly little alpha keyboard. I'll go crazy if I have to type in a code on that 50 times a day. There must be a way to get at least the "regular" large 10 digit numbers pad back.

2. gixxerfool macrumors 6502a

gixxerfool

Go to settings>general>pass code lock and turn off simple pass code.

Edit:

I just re-read your post. You want a 6 digit pass code but the large "dialer" looking keypad?

3. 7enderbender thread starter macrumors 6502a

7enderbender

I can't. This is grayed out because of the corporate security policy of my Exchange server at work. I didn't have the 4 digit simple pass code before either. It required 5 digits before but it was on a normal big number pad and not a tiny qwerty keyboard.

If nothing else helps I'll have to see if deleting the Exchange account will do the trick. And then start over. How annoying is all this. I'm like one inch away from asking T-mobile to turn my old BB9700 with the busted screen back on.

4. gixxerfool macrumors 6502a

gixxerfool

Ok. I get what you're saying. I didn't know exchange had that much control. as far as I know once you went beyond a 4 digit code, it was always qwerty. This is what allowed you to have a more complex code. Someone correct me if I'm wrong.

Sorry I can't be of more help. I'm not to familiar with exchange protocols.