Help! My iPhones Multi-Touch no longer works for the bottom fourth of my screen!

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by christall109, Feb 29, 2008.

  1. christall109 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    #1
    Hey Guys,

    Just like to first start and say I have an un-jailbroken iPhone and a legit AT&T account. And I HAVE NEVER DROPPED IT.

    So today someone was calling me and I picked up the iPhone, went to "slide to answer" the call and it didn't work!!

    After continuous reboots and two restores the slider area of the touch screen no longer works. However, The other top 3/4s of my screen appear to be ok since I can drag/launch apps, but everything seems screwy and it can't really hold a continous touch.

    I cannot answer calls or even "slide to unlock" to even get into my phone.

    Please Help,
    Thanks in Advance,

    Also if I do need to bring it in can i bring it in to AT&T?
     
  2. doobi18 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #2
    dude,

    if you're a legit customer...

    1) - try restoring

    2) - if that fails just go into an apple store & get it switched/fixed (if in a remote area apple will send you a box to send it in in)


    doobs
     
  3. christall109 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    #3
    thanks doobs

    does anyone know if AT&T will replace it if I go to their store?
     
  4. aceswild89 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    #4

    hmm something sounds a bit fishy to me, you say you cant answer calls or even "slide to unlock", yet you say you can drag/launch an app. Tell me now, how did you open the apps if you can't even get into your phone? Just Curious.
     
  5. christall109 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    #5
    After doing a hard reset it went right to the apps page....ergo nothing fishy
     
  6. cyclingplatypus macrumors 6502a

    cyclingplatypus

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Location:
    Earth
    #6
    When you reset the phone it boots up to the apps screen, no need to slide the slider when the phone boots up.
     
  7. christall109 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    #7
    Hey Guys,

    Just to let you guys know I drove to the Apple Store Saturday and the genius said "I have scene this before", and gave me a brand new one right from the factory.

    Thanks for the responses.

    Btw - the speaker is significantly louder on the new one and the home button is different (it seems to be further in)
     

Share This Page