HELP needed: MSI R7970 HD 7970 GHz 6 display card - working but seen as 7xxx

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by TheMrFister, Aug 7, 2013.

  1. TheMrFister macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    #1
    I have a question I just installed a new
    MSI R7970 LIGHTNING BE Radeon HD 7970 GHz

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814127736

    This does not have customer mac firmware so it has no EFI support but I am having issues with is being seen as a generic 7xxx video card in system profiler.

    I als o get issues with video card re-drawl issues. When you move windows around the drop shadow leaves re-draw artifacts. (horizontal lines)

    They go away when you move a window over them.


    THE QUESTION.

    How do i get this card ween as a 7970 and maintain all 6 ports working. I need to get rid of the re-draw issues.
     
  2. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #2
    What Mac and what OS are you running? It is my understanding, that without a resistor modification on a PC Radeon, that you are stuck at the PCIe speed of 2.5 GT/s rather than 5.0 GT/s.

    Lou
     
  3. TheMrFister thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    #3
    10.8.4 I've also tried 10.8.5 DP 4
    It's a mid 2012 Mac pro
     
  4. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #4
    Only way to get it called 7970 is to flash it or use ATY_Init and add personality name. You will need to find correct personality that has 6 MDP outputs. In short, probably beyond your skill level.

    EVen to flash it would require assigning correct personality to EFI which in itself is a huge PITA if name has different number of letters than one used by 7950.

    Are you certain that 3D acceleration is working? RUn OpenGl View or an OpenCl benchmark to see if drivers are working.
     
  5. jenzjen macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #5
    How are you powering it? What other cards are in your system?
     
  6. TheMrFister thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    #6
    So the real question for me is. Does flashing the firmware improve performance or just add EFI support?

    Does 7xxx mean it is using a non specific generic driver? IF so does tha hamper performance?

    Would another 7970 with 6 ports have the same re-draw issue or is it something about this firmware?

    I tested another HIS 7970 5 port card and did not have the re-drawl issue.

    I will try to run the Open Gl/CL tests today.

    ----------

    I am powering it fro the traces on the MLB.

    It is the only PCIe card in the MacPro.

    I do not want to get into a "You will fry your MLB" discussion. We do not need another 15 pages of conversation about that. If power becomes an issue I will use an external PSU or get power off of bay 2. I don't think power would cause this issue would it?
     
  7. TheMrFister thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    #7
    here is my open CL benchmark results.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. TheMrFister thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    #8


    I'm Up for a PITA challenge We really need this working at top performance.

    I'f someone were to tell me here is one that has been flashed and I am charging a $200 surplus fee We would Jump on it in a hart beat.

    As long as it fixed the line re-draw issue.
     
  9. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
  10. TheMrFister thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    #10
  11. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #11
    ^^^^Oops, sorry I missed that requirement. You're need for 6 working MDPs is probably very rare and one that most of here do not share. Good Luck on your quest.

    Lou
     
  12. TheMrFister thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    #12
    interesting discovery. My line redraw issue only shows up when the screen is rotated 90° or 270°. Unfortunately for me that is how i need the display.


    image of issue. This happens when you move a window. you get these lines that get left behind. (white lines)
     

    Attached Files:

  13. TheMrFister thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    #13
    This card has 4 MDP and two DVI and some cool blue gammer LED's

    I understand the unique situation I am in.

    But come on IF we forge the way for 6 displays it Opens a new Demand!!!

    A 4k video in 4x1 ratio looks awesome across 6 displays in portrait mode!!!
     

    Attached Files:

  14. RoastingPig macrumors 68000

    RoastingPig

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
    #14
    whats the tdp on this card and is it safe to run?
     
  15. TheMrFister thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    #15
    What does TDP stand for.

    The card has the same power requirements as 7970 cards. Which has been highly debated on how safe it is to run. That discussion is out there in other threads. It is not my intent to bring up that discussion on this card.
     
  16. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #16
    If you have $200 to spare and it looks like slots open too, the fastest solution is to just have two cards that are known to work and use three ports from each.

    If you intend to stick it out with that card, I think it's going to take some time and probably not everything will work perfectly at the end.

    The most monitors I've seen someone get out of AMD Eyefinity in OS X is all 5 ports on a 5-port model. As I recall, it took that guy months because he was the first and there wasn't a handy ROM sitting around just for him. Also, the end result, while it worked, was somewhat bug-ridden.

    Here is his thread if you want to see what he did:
    http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,5620.0.html

    It may be an easier road to travel these days as OS X seems to be more helpful with wider driver support and self initialization. Good luck!
     
  17. TheMrFister thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    #17
    Without crossfire support two cards with 6 monitors performance is impeded by windows server process spikes. The OS(CPU) has to back end the process. When the content spans all displays your performance tanks with two video cards. Trust me I have attempted this. I installed two K5000 and the performance was still terrible.

    For the process to be all in the GPU it has to be on only one video card.
     
  18. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #18
    This person got 10 screens working across two cards. He didn't mention any performance problems, and that's with mismatched cards from two generations ago.

    Perhaps he had performance problems and didn't mention them, but he seemed to provide a genuine list of the problems he was experiencing, and performance was not on the list. As for the K5000, ATI/AMD has been successful in the many-monitor arena a lot longer than Nvidia has.

    But hey, I get that you want to stick with one card. You might want to PM that guy as you are sort of following in his footsteps in regards to getting Eyefinity working on OS X. (It's the same guy in the Netkas link I provided earlier.)
     
  19. TheMrFister, Aug 8, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2013

    TheMrFister thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
  20. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #20
    You will need to figure out which personality works with your card then create an EFI for it or keep using ATY_init

    Won't be easy and won't fix the rotated screen redraw issue but will fix name and DVD player and Steam and possibly give you boot screens.

    Could be done by variety of card flashers but most are copy & paste code kiddies and will never create something new like this.
     
  21. TheMrFister thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    #21
    Thanks for addressing my redraw issue. I guess this card will not work for My situation.
     
  22. rabidz7 macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
    #22
    If you run this card without an external PSU it will fry the MP.
     
  23. TheMrFister thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    #23
    I still say the hurry is out on that!!!!!
     
  24. jenzjen macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #24

Share This Page