Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

sweettooth52000

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 22, 2010
I've had a Dell INSPIRON E1705 for the past 3 years. It has served me well for most tasks, but is Definently feeling it's age w/ a max of 2g RAM/1.7GHZ processor. I'm a student, so budget is pretty tight. Currently the best bang for the buck is the IMAC from what I can tell. The question is, are these things worth risking months of returns for, or not?

I keep reading horror stories of people buying theirs, and then 3 replacements later, end up just getting a refund. I can get any number of PC's for around 400$ less with similar(if not better) specs, yet the screen/build quality of mac's has always been alluring.

I'm not a "fanboy" of mac's...actually I've never been a fan of mac's at all. So on that note, if this thing isn't pretty much perfect, imho it's not gonna be worth "dealing with" it.

Short Version: Is the 27" Imac going to be more of a headache then it's worth.

FYI: Specs I'm looking at as a Minimum are 3.0ghz/8g RAM. ATI graphics 4870 or w/e it is.(although i dont' even remember if that's on the IMACS). 1 TB HD. Roughly equates to around $2,100 all things said and done.

Any advice/experiences would be appreciated.

unixfool

macrumors 6502a
Jan 21, 2006
East Coast
The question is, are these things worth risking months of returns for, or not?
Short Version: Is the 27" Imac going to be more of a headache then it's worth.

I'm loving mine so far...got it this weekend. No yellowing that I've noticed, but I'm not doing the tests that people are in the forums either. I'm not as anal as some about my Mac equipment.

So, to answer you, it depends on your demeanor. To answer a question with a question, are you OCD?

Kevlar

macrumors 6502
Apr 5, 2004
Great White North