High Definition on a Cinema Dislpay?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by punkmac, Mar 31, 2004.

  1. punkmac
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    #1
    Here's the question;

    Will an Apple Cinema Display accept a High Definition signal from a HD tuner box with DVI out?

    Of course with the DVI to ADC converter.

    Would the power supply be an issue?

    Any ideas?

    Thanks.

    I.
     
  2. jimsowden
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    jimsowden

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Location:
    NY
    #2
    It will. The box supplies power and converrsion. i have done this myself with a samsung digital air receiver. Works pretty well, too.
     
  3. Blackheart
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Blackheart

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    Seattle
    #3
    Could you KVM the 23" HD display with a computer and a receiver so you could use it as your monitor and your TV all with the ease of a switch?
     
  4. punkmac
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    #4
    thanks for the info...

    Hey thanks for the info...


    Just a consideration, with the sale going on right now.

    I think it's the best deal as far as actually being able to display all 1080x1920 pixels of an HD signal. Remember Quality not Quantity.(in this case screen size)

    And yes I think with a switcher box you could use the Tuner and your Mac.

    Ian
     
  5. Blackheart
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Blackheart

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    Seattle
    #5
    Hip, now I'm just hoping they update the displays so I can get a 23" of the "pinstripe" style.
     

Share This Page