High Sierra to Mojave Upgrade on Maxed Out 5,1 with Nvidia GTX 780 Advised?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by HUGE AL, Jan 27, 2019.

  1. HUGE AL macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #1
    With 10.14.3 just out, pondering if I should upgrade. Is it stable? Will it slow down my machine?
     
  2. t8er8 macrumors regular

    t8er8

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #2
    I saw huge performance boost going from HS to Mojave, its a lot more polished, countless bug fixes, Im not too sure about nvidia cards in mojave though, I’ve heard apple hasnt let nvidia release drivers yet, I may be wrong.
     
  3. Earl Urley macrumors 6502

    Earl Urley

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    #3
    Might be a good idea but I couldn't get Mohave to install with a non EFI GTX 770. If your 780 was flashed to be EFI compatible there might be a chance it would work, as Mojave has built-in support for the GTX 780M that's in Late 2013 iMacs.
     
  4. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    GTX 770 should be OK. The Mojave installer complain about no METAL GPU?
     
  5. Earl Urley macrumors 6502

    Earl Urley

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    #5
    Yep it didn't like the 2 GB GTX 770, no Metal card detected, had to switch in my old EVGA GTX 680 Mac Edition.
     
  6. bsbeamer macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #6
    Were you already on the 138.0.0.0.0 or 140.0.0.0.0 firmware (BootROM), or were you on something before MP51.089.B00? There are EFI GPU requirements getting to MP51.089.B00 (and for previous). MP51.089.B00 is basically a requirement before proceeding to Mojave install.

    These issues may be semi-unrelated if your GTX 780 is not flashed. GPU may function after Mojave install with Apple's generic driver without CUDA functionality. Not sure if it would provide any benefit over a GTX 680 Mac Edition, however. GTX 680 Mac Edition is an officially approved Mojave GPU.
     
  7. thornslack macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    #7
    I upgraded to Mojave with a flashed 780. I believe an unflashed may also work. Be aware that the 680/780 require an upgrade to Mojave from an existing OS. ie you can’t make a usb installer and use it to clean install Mojave. I found this out after wiping my original drive lol.
     
  8. HUGE AL thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #8
    Curious as to the "huge performance boost" you saw and in which areas. Anything you did not like?

    Curious as to your rational. :)

    How was your experience?



    Have been told that my 780 is good to go and am looking at Carbon Copy Cloner vs SuperDuper right now to insure I'm OK should something catastrophic happen. Although, also have Time Machine backing up to Bays 1 & 2 - 4TB drives running RAID 1.
     
  9. thornslack macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    #9
    CCC is a great program and have used it to make bootable clones many times.

    Upgrade to Mojave went fine once I realized what to do. Though to be honest I haven’t fooled around with it much yet. My cMP runs win 10 more often than not these days xD

    Because my card was flashed, I don’t know if you’ll run into a problem installing or not. But since Apple bakes in the 780 driver to the OS I think you’ll either be fine or it won’t let you do it from the get go.
     
  10. Earl Urley macrumors 6502

    Earl Urley

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    #10
    Ok, forget I said anything. Was able to get the 5,1 upgraded to 140.0.0.0 with the non-EFI GTX 770 2GB.

    Trick was to zap PRAM, then put in a drive set up with High Sierra, get it to the latest revision/security patches (it was updated to 10.13.6 / 138.0.0.0) and then download the -LATEST- Mojave installer, before I was working with a USB key with 10.14.0 on it. The 10.14.3 installer didn't give me a non-Metal card error and allowed me to flash it up to 140.0.0.0.
     
  11. jlwarren8 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2019
    #11
    Where did you get the rom for your GTX?
     
  12. thornslack macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    #12
    I had it professionally done. The ‘mac’ roms require more space and thus a larger rom chip has to be soldered on. This is true I believe for all cards after the 680. Not something that is just flashed and done.
     

Share This Page

11 January 27, 2019