Hooking up 30 Inch HD monitor to Macbook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Ellibelly, Jan 9, 2008.

1. Ellibelly macrumors newbie

I just bought a Macbook Pro 15 laptop. I am completely new to Mac, my first ever and first time using one as well.

I have an external 30 inch HD monitor. Can I hook it up to this and if so, how? The monitor box doesn't give any directions on what to hook up to where.

Forgive such a basic question! :D

2. skyrider007 macrumors 65816

skyrider007

You may find a DVI port in your monitor which allows connection to the MBP.

3. eddietr macrumors 6502a

You can connect it with a DVI to HDMI cable. I've done it several times with different LCD and Plasma TVs.

4. skyrider007 macrumors 65816

skyrider007

Great stuff, I didn't know that and I have a 42" LCD display! Now I'll go buy that cable and connect my MBP to it. :)

5. eddietr macrumors 6502a

Yes, it makes for nice slide shows to friends and relatives when you come back from vacations and graduations and such. :)

6. tdhurst macrumors 68040

tdhurst

Is there a DVI port on the back of the monitor?

7. jnc macrumors 68020

jnc

Your MacBook Pro has built in dual-link DVI, along with a DVI-VGA adaptor.

Your monitor will use one or the other kind of input signal. Find out which, then acquire the appropriate cable.

8. Ellibelly thread starter macrumors newbie

I got it hooked up and powered up and the screen comes up, but it blinks off and on.

9. eddietr macrumors 6502a

Which interface did you use on the TV?

10. Ellibelly thread starter macrumors newbie

11. Ellibelly thread starter macrumors newbie

I just found the users guide online. Thanks for helping me with my newbie question. I'll be hanging around and asking more ?'s :)

12. r88my macrumors regular

When you hook it up does the desktop take up the whole 40 inches of the screen (or whatever the size may be)? Thanks

13. eddietr macrumors 6502a

14. oliverlubin macrumors regular