Horrible cell service Iphone 5 At&t

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by bosco500, Sep 25, 2012.

  1. bosco500 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    #1
    I have had at&t service for about 10 years now. I have had multiple iphones including the 4 and 4s and all of them worked with two to three bars of 3g in the basement of my home (the 4s was labeled "4g").

    I've had the Iphone 5 since Friday, and it gets a steady one bar (without the "3g" or "4g" symbols, whatever the "regular" service is). I cannot take calls in the basement anymore, the person on the other end cannot hear me.

    Any ideas or is anyone else experiencing a similar problem? Could the phone be defective?
     
  2. PM-Performance macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    #2
    Call AT&T for the fix. Common issue on the 5 that they know about. Simple reset of network settings on their end and then on the phone
     
  3. bosco500 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    #3
    Cool, I'll try that. Thanks!
     
  4. Prof. macrumors 601

    Prof.

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
  5. zencowboy macrumors member

    zencowboy

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado
    #5
    Did that help?

    Thanks
     
  6. bosco500 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    #6

    They couldn't help over the phone. She said someone would contact me within 72 hours with a resolution. Will probably wind up having to return the phone.
     
  7. Böhme417 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #7
    I'm on Verizon, and I am having the same issue. Phone issue? Four days with this phone, and I've had about fifteen dropped calls. I can no longer talk on my phone in the basement as well. The other person stops being able to hear me, or the call drops entirely. Earlier today, I had two calls drop on the expressway (where I normally have full service). I've noticed the phone does a lot of going between o, 3G, and LTE even when it's just sitting unused. Software issue? Radio issue?
     
  8. PM-Performance, Sep 26, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2012

    PM-Performance macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    #8
    Mine was only data connection that I knew of and yes it has been fixed from the above suggestion I made.


    My issue came back and needed my data dropped and added back on by ATT again. They said Apple is well aware of the problem. . I asked apple yesterday and the person I spoke with said this is the first he has heard of it.
     

Share This Page