How’s business?

Discussion in 'Politics, Religion, Social Issues' started by Chew Toy McCoy, Apr 25, 2017.

1. Chew Toy McCoy macrumors regular

Chew Toy McCoy

I don’t need the news to tell me the economy is slowing because I am experiencing it. In the 11 years I’ve worked at my company I’ve never seen such a slowdown. I live in Silicon Valley, don’t work in tech, but a lot of our customers work for tech in a support capacity. I don’t entirely blame Trump, despite the slowdown starting pretty much the day he took office, because I think the Silicon Valley tech bubble is long overdue for a burst. At some point VC firms had to get tired of flushing billions of dollars down the toilet.

2. ibookg409 Suspended

ibookg409

I business is skewering liberals, and business is good.

Seriously, I work in the defense industry and it has been pretty solid for the 15 years I've been in it. Some programs have been shut down but usually replaced by other programs. Whats killing me is that even though I make more now than I did in 2012 I make far less primarily due to the ACA.

3. Chew Toy McCoy thread starter macrumors regular

Chew Toy McCoy

There are 3 certainties in the US: Death, taxes, and the defense industry will always have money, especially since 9/11. Of course your industry is doing fine.

4. BeeGood, Apr 25, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2017

BeeGood macrumors 65816

BeeGood

The economy is cyclical. Every 7-10 years on average, we have a recession. We're probably due one during this administration.

I work in banking. It's been pretty much the same since the Great Recession. Low interest rates = smaller spreads so it's harder for one bank to differentiate itself from the rest, especially with the regulatory hurdles imposed by Dodd-Frank.

For me personally things have been pretty good. Steady pay raises, one promotion and constant work over my last 5.5 years here.

5. Mac'nCheese macrumors 68030

Mac'nCheese