How can I connect a DVI extra monitor to iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by CarloUK, Feb 28, 2013.

  1. CarloUK macrumors member

    CarloUK

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Location:
    Bath UK
    #1
    Hi
    I have the latest 27" imac with Thunderbolt outputs. How can i connect a dvi monitor to it to act as a second display

    Thanks Carlo
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  3. CarloUK thread starter macrumors member

    CarloUK

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Location:
    Bath UK
    #3
    So the mini display port will fit and work in a Thunderbolt socket ?
     
  4. Brian Y macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    #4
    Yep, the connector is identical.
     
  5. xgman macrumors 601

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #5
    I tried this on a 2012 27" imac 680mx using a 30" monitor in daisy chained mode. The monitor would cut in and out with so many adapters so I gave up. I'll try again when they update the apple TB monitors.
     
  6. CarloUK thread starter macrumors member

    CarloUK

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Location:
    Bath UK
    #6
    Sorry you tried what. a 30" dvi monitor connected via dvi to the mac 2013 thunderbolt while using the below mentioned cable ?

    There was a problem ?
     
  7. macthefork macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    #7
    For a 30 " monitor you'd need the dual link to thunderbolt (mini display port) adapter, such as this one.
     
  8. corystal macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    #8
    Not Detecting

    I'm plugging a DVI viewsonic into the thunderbolt port via a minidisplay port adapter but my iMac doesnt seem to detect it... is there a setting that I'm missing here?
     
  9. macthefork macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    #9
    That should work. Which Viewsonic Monitor? Do you see the monitor in the System Preferences > Displays? How about checking Menu Item "About This Mac > More Information > System Report" Look under "Hardware," see what it says under Graphcs/Displays, and also under Thunderbolt.

    Does it show up in any of these places? Is it an Apple branded Adapter?
     
  10. DPinTX macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas
    #11
    Apple Cinema HD 23" Display

    I have a silmulr questoin I have a 27" iMac late 2012 I would like to use an Apple Cinema HD 23" Display, will this work and if so what cable do I need.

    Thanks for your help
     
  11. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside

Share This Page