How can I get a 16gb Iphone for discount price if...

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by cjbreener, Jul 3, 2008.

1. cjbreener macrumors newbie

About a month ago, I had Verizon (contract has been expired for a long time, so I'm a free agent) and was waiting to get the new iphone. But one day my boss distracted me and I spilt coffee on my phone and it fried. So I couldn't get a new verizon phone, cause I didn't want to sign an extended contract. So my friends all told me to get ATT & T now, so I can just upgrade to the iphone when it comes out. And I did that, signed a 2 year agreement. BUT now I find I am NOT eligible for an upgrade, and now I don't think I can get the 16gb iphone for a discount price. WHAT SHOULD I DO? I kinda do want to keep my number, but I refuse to pay $200 more because I'm NOT eligible, just b/c I was forced to sign up for AT & T early, just getting the free noikia phone with service. I'm at a loss here, but am going to the store today to figure this all out, since I signed up for service June 5th, and my one month trial will expire on saturday if I want to cancel. Should I cancel service and then on July 11th, resign up and get the iphone at discounted price? Will they even let me do that?! Will I have to get a new phone number then? Any help would be appreciated before I go to the store at 1pm.

thanks all!

2. macdaddy121 macrumors 6502a

First, you weren't FORCED to sign up with AT&T. You could have just purchased a new phone for Verizon for really cheap on Craigslist or Ebay but you chose to switch.

No big deal though don't fret.

I imagine that they will let you out of your contract because you are less than a month. The problem is that you won't have a phone for 6 days....Either way, you have 1 month to cancel with no penalty. Cancel and then go back on the 11th. If I'm not mistaken you can give any reason for canceling you want....and that includes, wanting to get an iPhone at the discount.