how can you check to see if vista SP1 is installed?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by spaceballl, Feb 28, 2008.

  1. spaceballl macrumors 68030

    spaceballl

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #1
    I have vista - not sure if I have the SP or not - how do I check?
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    I'm going to take a guess but right click Properties on Computer?

    You can always try 'ver' in the command line.
     
  3. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    If you haven't installed it, you ain't got it. SP1 is still beta.
     
  4. spaceballl thread starter macrumors 68030

    spaceballl

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #4
    Oh okay thanks. I've noticed that my file copy speeds have been really slow in vista. Read online that SP1 addressed that. Didn't know it was still in beta. Thanks for the heads up.
     
  5. steveza macrumors 68000

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    winver from the search box or command line.

    Unless you have a Technet subscription you wont have access to the RTM version (legally anyway)
     
  6. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    You're welcome.

    Lots of things are slow in Vista, sadly - even SP1 ain't that much of an improvement - it's still damn slow transferring files across a network and it generally feels pretty sluggish. I like some of the new features and approve of the improved security (even though it's still not secure enough), but the performance issues were the real killer for me. I recently purchased a large number of desktop PCs for work (I'm the sysadmin/IT manager for a charity), and having done considerable experimentation - including trying the SP1 preview - decided to order 'em all with XP Pro.

    I think we're probably going to skip Vista entirely and wait to see what the next version of Windows (due late next year) turns out to be like. In the meantime, XP ain't broke sooo........... ;) :p
     
  7. steveza macrumors 68000

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    While we are bigging up Vista SP1 all that I can say is that it was the motivating factor for me switching my work laptop to a MBP. SP1 was billed to be some sort of magic bullet that would sort the performance and compatibility issues on Vista. It didn't really work out that way.
     
  8. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #8
    That's probably because as a OS it "SUCKS"
     
  9. jbg232 macrumors 65816

    jbg232

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #9
    Vista SP1 will be released to the public as a download in March. It will hit the retail channel a little after that (late March to April). I've read a few reviews that said it did lead to noticeable speed increases IF you get a Vista SP1 disc and reinstall it from scratch (ie those increases were not apparent if you upgraded to SP1 from vista as it is available now).
     

Share This Page