How can you tell if your phone was unlocked?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Mr. Chewbacca, Mar 23, 2011.

  1. Mr. Chewbacca macrumors 6502a

    Mr. Chewbacca

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    #1
    I know this sounds like an odd question but I have an old 2g iPhone that was JB using the jailbreak me web site. I downloaded ultrasn0w from Cydia so I should be good right?

    I'm going to Italy / Greece and wanted to get a sim there to be able to use the phone during vacation. My ip4 has the 3.10.01 firmware so I cant unlock it.

    The 2g has version 3.1.3 (7E18) OS and 04.05.04_G modem firmware. I didnt see that listed so I'm not sure if it worked.

    Any way to check?

    Thanks!
     
  2. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #3
    That's what I've always done. If it works, it'll accept any other SIM as well.
     
  3. Mr. Chewbacca thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Mr. Chewbacca

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    #4
    I'll have to find out if anyone I know is on tmobile

    Thanks!
     
  4. hackthatphone macrumors 68000

    hackthatphone

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #5
    A more universal method for checking (other than using a SIM that shouldn't work in the handset based on its country of origin) is:

    Is Cydia installed? Check to see if BootNeuter/yellowsn0w or ultrasn0w is installed. Granted BootNeuter won't always show up in a list. Is the AnySIM program on the SpringBoard?
     
  5. Mr. Chewbacca thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Mr. Chewbacca

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    #6
    OK, I tried it with a friends t-mobile sim and the phone said to connect to Itunes. I'm hesitent to do that since that is his primary phone, I dont want to mess with his sim.

    If the unlock had worked would the new sim have worked right away or would I still have had to connect to itunes?

    I may just buy a gas station throwaway phone and try it with that.
     
  6. Mr. Chewbacca thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Mr. Chewbacca

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    #7

    Thanks!!
     
  7. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #8
    For 2G phone, you need to use bootnueter to unlock and not Ultrasn0w.
     
  8. Mr. Chewbacca thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Mr. Chewbacca

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    #9
    Thanks, I think that worked. I uninstalled ultrasn0w and put in bootnueter. I was able to put his sim in with out it locking up. It was not able to actually connect to the phone network but at least it didnt lock up.

    I think I'll try it with a cheap throw away sim next.

    Thanks again!
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10

Share This Page