How Do I Activate Verizon 5s for AT&T Account?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by pat.micunnis, Sep 25, 2013.

  1. pat.micunnis macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #1
    If current carrier is AT&T...(iPhone 5)
    And I purchase a contract-free Verizon iPhone 5s...

    What are the steps to activate the new phone?

    (Please only reply if you can directly answer my question - these threads / posts are getting super long)
     
  2. WolfSnap macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
  3. Col Ronson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    #3
    get a nano sim with ATT service and plug it in.
    Yes its that simple
     
  4. WolfSnap macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
  5. DollaTwentyFive macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    #6
    Step 2: Enjoy.
     
  6. Makaveliarts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #7
    So glad there's no more BS with this.

    About damn time.
     
  7. Irock619 macrumors 68000

    Irock619

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #8
    I thought verizon phones didn't have a sim tray.
     
  8. Col Ronson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    #9
    can't tell if you're being a sarcastic troll or not
     
  9. Irock619 macrumors 68000

    Irock619

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #10
    I'm serious. My father in law said his iphone 5 doesn't have a tray. I have never looked at his phone however.
     
  10. Col Ronson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    #11
    Every iPhone has a SIM tray. EVERY SINGLE ONE. There. Yes even verizon and sprint models.

    And not to mention the 48,000 threads in this forum explaining the Verizon iPhone 5/5S is factory SIM unlocked due to FCC mandates. In fact, LTE service is tied to a SIM card. Without it, no data for you unless you're content with CDMA EV-DO speeds.
     
  11. sillywabbit macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    #12
    It does have a sim tray, the same tray used by mobile and at&t
     
  12. Irock619 macrumors 68000

    Irock619

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #13
    Sorry...didn't mean to rattle anybody's cage.
     
  13. DollaTwentyFive macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    #14
    The iPhone 4 did not. The 4S did but only for international roaming.

    Starting with the LTE 5, the Verizon iPhone has an unlocked sim slot. .

    Per their "deal with the devil" agreement with the FCC regarding 700 mHz spectrum, Verizon cannot lock down their LTE phones. With the 5, the phone did not include domestic LTE bands on GSM so one could only get HSPA+ on AT&T and TMo. But with the 5s, the domestic LTE bands are available. I pop my wife's AT&T sim in my Verizon 5s and there is LTE service.

    There is, indeed, a sim tray and it is there for you to enjoy and exploit, my friend.
     
  14. Col Ronson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    #15
    I wasn't yelling or anything. Don't take it that way.
     
  15. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #16
    I took advantage of that last Saturday at the Apple Store when they had only 64GB AT&T phones and were out of T-Mobile versions (both identical but assigned to carriers based on their contracts with Apple). I'm now a happy user of a Verizon iPhone 5s running on AT&T.

    What I don't understand is why the FCC attached those requirements only to the particular spectrum that Verizon acquired. AT&T bought some 700MHz spectrum vacated by the analog TV stations, too. And as is pretty clear, being forced to sell unlocked phones doesn't seem to have hurt Verizon's business that much. Heck, they paid $130 billion to rid themselves of Vodafone! Surely AT&T could survive if they had to sell unlocked phones.
     
  16. DollaTwentyFive macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    #17
    I think it is because Verizon already possessed a significant 700 mHz presence. For them to avoid anti-trust issues, they brokered a deal so that the spectrum purchased was not locked down. I don't think they anticipated this particular situation. Regardless, they are still raking in the scrillaz and I doubt whether 90% of their customers even realize that their phones can be used with another carrier. That was their bet. Those of us here on MR are aware of these issues. The vast majority are not. Verizon bet on that.
     
  17. pat.micunnis thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #18
    Do I need to call up AT&T? Also will I be charged an activation fee?
     
  18. WolfSnap macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
    #19
    Let's see the steps again....

    Step 1. Insert SIM card into tray.

    Step 2. There is no step 2.


    Nope, I don't see "Call AT&T" on that list of steps!
     
  19. vnr111 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #20
    If you get a verizon iphone 5s at full retail do they still verify your verizon account in store? I went to apple store today they only had verizon phones and i have ATT (I am paying full price as im not eligible for upgrade).
     
  20. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #21
    No. At least not at the store I went to (Lincoln Park in Chicago). They just sold me the device.
     
  21. cwosigns macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    Columbus,OH
    #22
    Do we REALLY need a 39th thread on this topic? A simple search would have found the other 38 threads where this has been asked and answered.
     

Share This Page