How do you check if 2011 17" MBP comes with Sata III 6G connection in Optical Bay?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Texxy, Aug 16, 2011.

  1. Texxy macrumors 6502

    Texxy

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    #1
    Hey guys how do you check if a 2011 17" MBP comes with Sata III 6G connection in Optical Bay? I know some of them are coming with dual Sata III connection. My question is how? Can someone show me a screenshot of what it would look like in the "software" window. I do not know how to tell.
     
  2. bb426, Aug 16, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2011

    bb426 macrumors 6502

    bb426

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #2
    [​IMG]

    If your link speed and negotiated speed are 6 gb/s, that is SATA III. Mine are not, unfortunately.

    The 17" MBP's that I've seen have pretty much all been 3 gb/s in the Optical bay. There's some sort of screw up with these connectors... because some MBP 13" have dual 6 gb/s.

    Oh, and I forgot to answer half of your question.

    If you're running Lion, go to the :apple: icon, click About this Mac, go to "More Info", Click the "System Report" button, and click "Serial-ATA" on the left hand side. You will find this information here, on the "Intel 6 Series Chipset" bars.
     
  3. Texxy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Texxy

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    #3
    Thank you for your answer and it is actually a big help but SADLY I cannot see your image. Can you upload one more time?
     
  4. bb426 macrumors 6502

    bb426

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #4
  5. Texxy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Texxy

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
  6. getheo macrumors member

    getheo

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
  7. JronMasteR macrumors 6502

    JronMasteR

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #7
    At this point, none. OWC tested all of their 17"MBP 2011 which have 6G in the optical drive bay with a 6G SSD, and none of them worked. If I remember it correctly, the drives were not even recognized. 13" MBP is the only one which has a perfectly working 6G connection in both bays.

    Details:
    http://blog.macsales.com/10433-macbook-pro-2011-models-and-sata-3-0-6-0gbs-update-5272011
     
  8. Texxy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Texxy

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    #8
    So if they do not work why is it so important to check if it is 6G capable? :confused:
     
  9. Neobond macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    #9
    I have a question, I just got my new 15in MBP this week and under system report I have this:

    Serial-ATA Device Tree
    --Intel 6 Series Chipset (Harddrive)
    ----Link Speed 6 Gigabit
    ----Negotiated Link Speed 3 Gigabit
    ----AHCI Version 1.30
    --Intel 6 Series Chipset
    ----Link Speed 6 Gigabit (DVDRW)
    ----Negotiated Link Speed 1.5 Gigabit
    ----AHCI Version 1.30

    Does this mean I "could" do two 6 Gigabit SSDs in my MBP?
     
  10. L0s7man macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    #10
    So it would seem. You have 2xSATA3 controllers. BUT: the optibay SATA3 controller is known not to work properly. I haven't yet found anyone who confirmed working SATA3 drive in SATA3 optibay ;-(

    Basically, if you have SATA2 optibay, you can use SATA3 drive but it won't work at full speed (it can only do SATA2).

    If you have SATA3 optibay then it is *likely* that no SATA3 drive will work properly. If you install SATA3 drive it probably won't even get recognized. However, SATA2 drives are said to work.

    This is something you'll have to test yourself. If you do get SATA3 working in Optibay, please let me know!

    Only 13" MBPs are known to accomodate SATA3 drives in both main and optibay. OWC has some benchmark where 13 MBP with 2xSSD in RAID0 has 1GB/s read and write (yeah, that's one gigabyte!)
     
  11. bb426 macrumors 6502

    bb426

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #11
    If it states that your LINK SPEED is 6 gigabit, then yes you should be able to reach full speed with a SATA III drive. You may be one of the lucky ones who actually got a working SATA 3 optical port.
     
  12. L0s7man macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    #12
    bb426: does sata3 in optibay ever works? I haven't found a single report confirming that...
     
  13. bb426 macrumors 6502

    bb426

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #13
    It's hit and miss. Some 15" and 17" MBP's support it in both bays but most of them don't. Many 13" MBPs do though, which seems odd to me but who knows. A lot of people suspect that it's a bug and it's just reporting the wrong speeds.

    I just know that my Optibay displays only SATA II speed (3 gigabit). Sucks. I'm taking it to a Genius tomorrow and asking them about that too (without the Optibay of course).
     
  14. L0s7man macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    #14
    I guess I could get one and if it doesn't work, return it.

    It might be better to get it from the online store though -- it comes straight from China (I'm in Japan). But the returns are a bit of a pain compared to simply going to retail store and giving the laptop back.
     
  15. Texxy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Texxy

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
  16. JasonH42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #16
    Works fine in 13" MBPs.

    Seriously, all of you reading this do not bother trying a SATA 3/6G drive in a 15" or 17" optical bay reporting SATA 3/6G link speed. It won't work and it isn't worth the hassle and pain. I know because I tried it recently.

    1GB/s RAID0 would be nice though. Let's see what the next refresh brings.
     
  17. bb426 macrumors 6502

    bb426

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #17
    It WILL work, it just won't be the full 6 gigabit speed. It will be the (3 Gigabit) negotiated speed.

    And from what the Genius told me today, supposedly NO MBP's are supposed to have 6 gigabit speed in the Optical Bay.
     
  18. Texxy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Texxy

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    #18
    Well i found out both of mine were 6 Gigabit! :D
     
  19. JasonH42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #19
    No, it WON"T work at all. I tested this. You could read the OWC blog also, they tested it. The drive - if even recognised - will just give you beachballs and errors. Totally unusable. A SATA 3 drive in a SATA 3 optical bay on 15" and 17" is simply no-go.
     

Share This Page