How easy/fast is a hard reboot on an Airport Extreme?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Guy691, Jan 13, 2013.

  1. Guy691, Jan 13, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2013

    Guy691 macrumors newbie

    Guy691

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    #1
    Hi. I have been having constant problems with port forwarding on my Airport Extreme, and someone told me that a hard reboot would help. I am hesitant to do this because I'm not sure exactly what it will do. If anyone could let me know what to expect or how long it takes I would really appreciate it.

    Edit: Another question, will this cut off my internet?

    Edit: One more question, will this delete everything on the built-in terabyte drive?
     
  2. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #2
  3. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #3
    It's not a big deal...the worst thing that could happen is that you may have to perform a setup again using the Airport utility...this could actually be beneficial, as clearing the old and starting afresh should clear your issues...if it doesn't, maybe the AE is faulty.

    It's not a hard task:

    http://support.apple.com/kb/ht3728

    ----------

    Cross posted.....:)
     
  4. Guy691 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Guy691

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA

Share This Page