How I gave up waiting for a new MacPro, bought the fastest rMBP and never looked back

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by SvK, Mar 4, 2013.

1. SvK, Mar 4, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2013

SvK macrumors 6502

SvK

How I gave up waiting for a new MacPro, bought the fastest rMBP and never looked back.....

I'll make this short.

Im a composer / musician who scores music for films. I need a lot of horsepower and very fast reads from SSDs, due to mammoth sample-libraries for my Orchestral music.

I owned a 2010 4 core Mac Pro Tower with 32 gig of RAM and 5 internal 128gig SSD's hooked up to 3 displays. CPU wise, that is a little under-powered and it is generally agreed that for Music , the 6-core is the sweet spot for professional music production.

Well....the rMBP is just under the 6-core speed according to Geekbench.

So ...i bought it. With 16gig ofRAM and the 768 gig SSD (read speeds are just about 500) . I also bought a 27 inch Thunderbolt display.

So, I brought it home, migrated all my data from Tower to rMBP. I took an HDMI cable from rMBP to my over head 1080 TV, another thunderbolt cable to TB display, hooked up my full sized keyboard, midi controllers and mice to the TB 27inch Display (it's a hub)

Loaded up my busiest, most CPU intensive session from my tower......

and hit play............

IT PLAYED!! ...my CPU meters in Logic Audio barely blinked, and that super fast internal SSD inside the rMBP streamed all my strings, brass, woodwinds like a champ!

unbelievable.

The best part?
    At the end of the day, I wanted to chill out on the couch and continue editing my recording session...just unhooked 2 cables....and ALL that power came with me to the couch.

To keep things safe, I have a time-capsule that backs up wireless, when im disconnected from the big rig and over ethernet ( the 27 TB display has ethernet ) when hooked up to big rig.

I am free !!