how is the best way way to unlock my iphone 3gs from O2 to vodafone please??

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by scuba-steve, Jul 2, 2011.

  1. scuba-steve macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    #1
    i just managed to buy a 2nd hand Iphone 3 gs 32gb,
    but I didnt realise i would need to unlock it to use with vodafone as it was on O2 before hand.
    I dont mind paying sensible amount to get it done but i dont know where to turn,
    I have looked at loads of websites but have heard rumours some are scams and some damage phones, is there a safe way to do it how do i tell scammers from genuine people? or can i some how get it done by apple.
    Thanks Steve.
     
  2. scuba-steve thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    #3
    Thanks Andy i gave that a go but it didn't work.
    if you have a phone on account with O2, you can unlock it but as im with vodaphone i cant the previos owner would be able to but i cant
     
  3. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #4
    My first solution would have been O2 but it seems you've already tried that.

    Unfortunately, your only solution is to use a program called Redsn0w to install the iPad baseband onto your phone and then install Ultrasn0w to unlock it.

    If you pay someone to unlock your phone, this is exactly what they will do. The tools are free so just do it yourself.

    This should help a bit. http://www.iclarified.com/entry/comments.php?page=2&enid=12949
     
  4. scuba-steve thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    #5
    Thanks for that am just trying that now ill let you know how i get on:)
     
  5. 2ndchancephones macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    #6
    Yep...the ipad baseband works perfectly...I have done that to many phones..
     
  6. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #7
    I have too, unfortunately... :(
     
  7. MattZani macrumors 68030

    MattZani

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    You can go instore, buy a pay and go sim with £15 on then request the unlock, they'll charge you £15 which is why you need a PayGo sim.

    Ask instore, this is what used to happen, unsure if it has changed.
     

Share This Page