How long do you think Snow Leopard Support will last?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by MacAndrew07, Sep 17, 2012.

  1. MacAndrew07 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    #1
    I have a Core Duo Mac that means no Lion, ML or future OS X releases. Since I cannot afford another Mac right now I wonder how long will SL last until Apple "cuts off" from the Updates/Support list. I use my Mac for Photoshop, Dreamweaver Web browsing, etc. And will iTunes '11 be SL compatible?

    Thanks :)
     
  2. ScoobyMcDoo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #2
    Apple never seems to publish any EOL bulletins like they should, however it seems to be the consensus that they only support the current and one previous version, which means us SL users are out of luck. Who knows about iTunes - I suppose we could run Win7 on our macs if we really need iTunes 11.
     
  3. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #3
    That just drips with irony. Running Windows on a Mac do get the newest version of Apple's most important program to run. :D
     
  4. MacAndrew07 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    #4
    indeed oh apple :confused::eek:
     
  5. dusk007 macrumors 68040

    dusk007

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #5
    Simply running new apps should not be a problem for a long time. OpenCL/GL, 64bit is all there. There isn't yet any API changes like DirectX10 or Windows 8 style on Windows.
    So except for security updates I think everybody can run SL for as long as they have the current machine. When you buy a new one you will have to switch.
     
  6. MacAndrew07 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    #6
    my core duo. :mad:
     

    Attached Files:

  7. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #7
    Considering that you are running a hackintosh, why can't you just upgrade the CPU? Apple owes you no favors.
     
  8. ScoobyMcDoo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #8
    What made you conclude he is running a hackintosh? I think he's running a mini.
     
  9. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #9
    Look at his profile. It says hackintosh. Furthermore, a 2.8GHz Core Duo?
     
  10. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #10
    No Mac model has ever had a 2.8GHz Core Duo processor. No mini has ever had a 2.8GHz processor.
     
  11. MacAndrew07 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    #11
    I "built" this Mac back in 2007, my Motherboard's socket does not support a Core 2 Duo, this is a Pentium D it justs detects as a Core Duo, (no idea why). But I'm really hoping that my next computer will be a real Mac, this is an Hackintosh indeed, with a Apple Keyboard/Might Mouse, LG display good machine, :) Oh and its a legitimate copy of SL that I bought. ;)
     
  12. ScoobyMcDoo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #12
    I see - I have just never memorized all the mac specs - doing good to remember my phone number.
     
  13. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #13
    I don't memorize them, either. You can find specs on all Apple products:
     
  14. MacAndrew07 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
  15. Angelo95210 macrumors 6502a

    Angelo95210

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #15
    I am same in the same situation as you, with an old MBP running SL. I don't want to upgrade because I am used to the CS3 suite for my workflow.
     
  16. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #16
    I still run SL and have no plans to upgrade unless I'm forced to. Lion and ML have nothing I need or want.
     
  17. TSE macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #17
    I still run Snow Leopard on my 2011 MacBook Pro and will use it as long as the software I need is compatible.

    I dislike the new Lion and Mountain Lion upgrades, but at least they fixed the battery life issues with Mountain Lion. That was the biggest issue I had with them. The iOS-ification, slight UI modifications, and changes to Spaces are other things I dislike.

    Safari 6 is no longer compatible with Snow Leopard. And perhaps iTunes 11 will drop support. The only thing you should expect from Apple in terms of updates is security updates.
     
  18. InuNacho macrumors 65816

    InuNacho

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Location:
    In that one place
    #18
    I'mma run SL for as long as I can or until the latest OpenGL or new graphics drivers hit ML.
     
  19. MacAndrew07 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    #19
    Indeed I honestly don't like the Lion's and ML's Finder. Launchpad I like the Dock so no thanks!
     
  20. Beta Particle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    #20
    You need to run Windows to get iCloud support on Macs that don’t support Lion too. Unfortunately, Apple seems to have killed off Safari for Windows so we are stuck on 5.1.7 with no iCloud tab support. (only bookmarks & reading list)
     
  21. Purant macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    #21
    I do. I can't upgrade to Lion or ML. I have a 1st Gen Macbook pro (only Core Duo). It sucks that newer xcode versions require Lion.

    I have used lion and ML for a while on other macbooks and I don't like it... Launchpad feels like it's tacked on, expose is more useful than mission control and I'm getting really bad vibes from Gatekeeper...
     
  22. MacAndrew07 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    #22
    Well at least they did not cut all security updates. This appeared today. :cool:
     

    Attached Files:

    • ggh.jpg
      ggh.jpg
      File size:
      162.5 KB
      Views:
      75
  23. durija macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #23
    A lot of people are still running 10.6. I run both 10.6 and 10.8 now, partially for PPC apps, but also because I prefer SL in many instances. I even have to run Tiger (10.4) at my workplace.
     
  24. MacAndrew07 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    #24
    Skitch (the App) has been updated, now requires 10.7, +. Does anyone know where can I download the version for 10.6? :confused: :(
     
  25. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #25
    http://update.skitch.com/skitch.html
     

Share This Page