How many here are corporate professionals but DO NOT have a college degree?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Kendo, Apr 25, 2012.

1. Kendo macrumors 68000

I currently work in finance as a tax professional and have been lucky to get into the business without completing my college degree. These days it seems hard to even get in the mailroom without higher credentials. For those wondering how I got in, I've been in the workforce for 7 years now so I was lucky to get my start before the meltdown of the economy.

These days it seems everyone has a degree and people are going for their MBA just to gain an edge. Degrees are more and more commonplace in this era but I would imagine there are quite a number of individuals even in firms such as Goldman Sachs and Morgan Stanley (I work for a highly reputable and competing firm) who didn't obtain one because they got their start in a different era.

My question is this. Since times are uncertain and anyone can get laid off, do you worry about your lack of degree even though you have a solid work experience and expertise? I finished two years of college and am thinking of going back simply due to the hurdle of all of those jobs that require a Bachelors degree even though I have the work experience to back it up. The simplest case in point, I'm worried that I won't even pass the HR filters for an online application. If you are wondering why not just simply go for one, it is because I work full time and it would be hard to juggle both school and work.

Of course this is currently a moot point since I am employed full time but the thought does cross my mind in these unsure times. Does anyone else work in a corporate setting but not have a degree and if so, do the same thoughts cross your mind?

2. leekohler macrumors G5

leekohler

I you have the experience and knowledge, you'll be OK. I think for people who have not had their first professional job, a degree is an issue.

3. Macky-Mac macrumors 68030

Macky-Mac