How many of you guys run your own business?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Cromulent, Jan 11, 2009.

1. Cromulent macrumors 603

Cromulent

I'm just about to launch my first ever commercial website when my designer has finished. How many of you run your own businesses?

I'm just wondering because the PC world seem to love the fact that the PC is meant to be essential for businesses. I'm interested to see how many Mac users run a business and what software they use.

2. jonbravo77 macrumors 6502a

jonbravo77

I run my own company. It's just me, I am a freelancer for the corporate audio/visual world. I have my trusty MBP with me running Quickbooks for Mac, Office 2008, Photoshop CS, Amadaeus Pro for recordings. I'm sure there are more...

My Mac is essential to my business. I have Vista via Bootcamp but don't use it other than to do gaming.

3. Cromulent thread starter macrumors 603

Cromulent

Good to hear it :). So far the essential business applications I use are iWork '08, Mail, iCal, Keychain, NeoOffice and Little Snitch. I'm still in need of some accounting software which is pretty hard to choose.

I'm getting pretty nervous about the whole thing now, 2 weeks or so till I go live and the legal requirements for an import / export business are weighing heavily on my mind.

4. MasterNile macrumors 65816

MasterNile

I'd be interested to see arn's set up and how much if any he uses Windows or Linux.

5. Dagless macrumors Core

Dagless

I suppose I kind of run a small independent game studio, it's just me and a musician. I have Apple computers but the work side mostly takes part in XP.

6. MasterNile macrumors 65816

MasterNile

What type of games?

7. jonbravo77 macrumors 6502a

jonbravo77

Honestly, Quickbooks is probably your best bet and Intuit just released QB 2009 which is supposed to integrate way better with Mac OS and from the brief look has a simpler interface.

8. XnavxeMiyyep macrumors 65816

XnavxeMiyyep