How many of you have tried to use the home button to take a pic?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by troop231, Jan 14, 2011.

?

Have you ever used the home button to try to take a pic?

  1. Yes

    27 vote(s)
    29.7%
  2. No

    64 vote(s)
    70.3%
  1. troop231 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    #1
    I have owned the iPhone for several years, but I still keep pressing the stupid home button thinking it will be the shutter! Drives me insane sometimes lol, there are times where using the touchscreen is just awkward. Am I alone here? :cool:
     
  2. Chaos123x macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Never once thought about doing that.

    Maybe you had a phone before the iPhone that had a camera button in that place?
     
  3. troop231 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    #3
    Nope lol, I had a crappy HTC Mogul (PPC-6800) before I switched to the iPhone.
     
  4. OlgaJ macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    Florida
    #4
    You're not alone. One of the camera apps did just that and Apple removed them from the App Store for a long time.
     
  5. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #5
    No app in the App Store has ever used the home button for taking pictures. How would you even close the app? Maybe you're thinking volume buttons.
     
  6. ucfgrad93 macrumors P6

    ucfgrad93

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #6
    Neither have I. You must just be weird, OP.:p
     
  7. mikelegacy macrumors 65816

    mikelegacy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #7
    Nope. I just end up pressing my screen in 100 places and im always like, I DEFINITELY took it that time and nope. Never takes. Pisses me off really.
     
  8. MEJHarrison macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #8
    I fairly certain you're referring to Camera+ using the volume buttons. Had they taken over the home button, how would you get out of the app?

    Anyway, I've never done that.
     
  9. Chaos123x macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #9
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    You think the sleep wake button would be more likely hit, since it feels a little like a camera button and it's placement.
     
  10. Steven Jobson macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    #11
    This guy has no idea what he's talking about.
     
  11. TJone macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #12
    Pretty sure that is not a guy. But Camera+ is a brilliant app.
     
  12. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #13
    Just put your finger on the screen button and hold it there
    Line your shot up and then move your finger
    You don't have to poke the screen, the shutter releases after your finger does
     
  13. LaynieGorilla macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    PA
    #14
    I did it all the time, OP. I think its so dumb that there's no physical button to take pictures especially if you want a 5MP picture of yourself.
     
  14. Xenc macrumors 6502a

    Xenc

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Location:
    London, England
    #16
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-gb) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Nope, but a springy camera button would be more than welcome!
     
  15. innominato5090 macrumors 6502

    innominato5090

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    #17
    never happened to me, but if I ask somebody to take a picture, the first time he/she always click the home button!
     
  16. ChazUK macrumors 603

    ChazUK

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    Essex (UK)
    #18
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 2.2; en-gb; GT-P1000 Build/FROYO) AppleWebKit/533.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/533.1)

    My missus used to do that all he time! Me, ive never done it.
     
  17. DirtySocks85 macrumors 65816

    DirtySocks85

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    #19
    This is my experience as well. If you know how to use the phone, I don't see why this would ever be an issue, but when you try to get someone who doesn't know how to use the device to take a picture with it, the virtual button becomes a complete mystery to them.
     
  18. Apple 26.2 Contributor

    Apple 26.2

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    What up, 212?!
    #20
    You're not alone. Ergonomically, that's where one would feel it is...
     
  19. iMJustAGuy macrumors 68020

    iMJustAGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Beach, FL
  20. Slix macrumors 6502a

    Slix

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
  21. Lukeyy19 macrumors 6502a

    Lukeyy19

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Location:
    England, UK
    #23
    why would i press the home button... thats the wrong button... do you press the Phone icon when you wanted Safari?
     
  22. j3yq macrumors 6502

    j3yq

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Location:
    Iowa
    #24
    Im going to have to join the group of "never done that"
     
  23. mcdj macrumors 604

    mcdj

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #25
    I have never tried to use the home button to take a photo because it's the home button, not a shutter button. Likewise, I have never attempted to use the shutter button on my Canon 5D to access the camera's menus.
     

Share This Page