How much of a gain is UB for Halo?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by chief99, Jun 18, 2007.

  1. chief99 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #1
    I am using a Core Solo Mac Mini and get rather poor performance in Halo for the Mac, but I only have the PPC version.
    I have tried running Halo under Windows and get a better performance but still not great, but my question is how will Halo UB run on my core solo?
     
  2. dralbertqnixon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    #2
    if it doesn't run well in windows, the UB won't help. the UB has some really strange slowdowns with grenades and explosions - the windows version is more constant.

    if you care, here's the timedemo for my macpro with the UB.

    Date / Time: 12/13/06 8:51:56 (0ms)
    2700MHz, 1024MB
    C:\Users\eldunko\games\Halo.app psn_0_3145729 Frames=4700
    Total Time=51.40s
    Average frame rate=91.43fps
    Below 5fps= 13% (time) 0% (frames) (6.891s spent in 10 frames)
    Below 10fps= 13% (time) 0% (frames)
    Below 15fps= 13% (time) 0% (frames)
    Below 20fps= 14% (time) 0% (frames)
    Below 25fps= 14% (time) 0% (frames)
    Below 30fps= 17% (time) 1% (frames)
    Below 40fps= 22% (time) 3% (frames)
    Below 50fps= 23% (time) 3% (frames)
    Below 60fps= 27% (time) 5% (frames)
    ###Sound Options###
    Hardware Acceleration= No
    Sound Quality= Low
    Environmental Sound= No
    Sound Variety= Medium
    ###Video Options###
    Resolution= 1024 x 768
    Refresh rate= 0 Hz
    Framerate throttle= No Vsync
    Specular= Yes
    Shadows= Yes
    Decals= Yes
    Particles= Off
    Texture Quality= High
     
  3. chief99 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #3
    That's what I thought, the UB would be more or less useless for me, thanks!
     
  4. paddy macrumors 6502a

    paddy

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Location:
    TN
    #4
    Yeah Halo runs about the same on my G4 iMac as on my MB C2D which doesnt say much about the old GMA950.
     
  5. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #5
    If you're using the regular UB, upgrade to at least 2.0.1 – that should help.
     
  6. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #6
    The integrated GMA950 is not helping matters either unfortunately. :eek: :)
     

Share This Page