How 'Right' is Our Ability to Keep People Alive?

Discussion in 'Politics, Religion, Social Issues' started by AP_piano295, Jan 14, 2008.

1. AP_piano295 macrumors 65816

Back Story: I work as an adaptive ski instructor at the local ski resort, this is usually very rewarding work. I can teach people with severe paralysis or one leg how to ski or snowboard better than 90% of people, it's awsome to see a kid who cant walk smoking his friends on the slopes. Another part of this program is basically giving people rides, some of our 'students' are so severely handicaped that they have no hope of ever skiing independantly.

This weekend I was working with a 12 year old with severe Cerebral palsy, who had roughly zero motor control, no ability to really communicate in anything but the most basic ways. All we do with people like this is ride them down the hill (instructor constantly in control) in a bi-ski it's basically a less controlled roller coaster ride (the student has no influence on what happens and is'nt learning anything). This was the most severe case of anything that I'd ever seen and it really got me wondering about this modern ability to sustain life in these extreme cases.

Is it 'right' that we can keep people alive through anything even though they have no hope of ever being able to do anything on their own?

2. mactastic macrumors 68040

mactastic

I dunno... never say never I suppose. Advances in technology or medicine might provide someone like that with more than is now possible.

3. Ugg macrumors 68000

Ugg

I think if it's just a matter of feeding people and providing them with a safe clean and reasonably stimulating environment then we should. However, if massive medical intervention is required and the person has little or no awareness of his surroundings, then it's probably not right.

This has actually become a major issue in Iraq. A lot more soldiers are surviving serious trauma but many come out of it little more than vegetables.