How to best set up a used phone purchased from a friend?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Nam Pla, Nov 20, 2012.

1. Nam Pla macrumors member

As I'm somewhat new to this sort of thing, and I'd appreciate any comments or suggestions to do this the correct way. I'm buying a used iPhone 4s 32 GB from a friend to replace my own 4s 64 GB which recently went kablooey on me.

Should I just reset and restore the phone on iTunes as new, then just sync my apps, contacts, music, etc thru iTunes? Or should I restore it from a backup of my old phone (which was a 64 GB)?

His phone is unlocked for GSM use here in Thailand, but originally purchased in Germany (German language and all that), my old 4s was purchased in the US (Eng. language). Will that make any difference if I restore from a back-up, or will I be able to choose my language like if I set it up as new?

Also, is there anything he would need to do with the phone first (i.e. de-authorize it in iTunes or anything like that) before I'd be able to set it up and sync it as my own with my own apps and info?

Thanks for any help or tips, especially if I may have overlooked something else! :)

2. Prawnstar69 macrumors regular

if the iphone is factory unlocked u can restore it thru itunes or u can choose a backup. You dont have to deauthorize it in itunes or anything simply sign out his account and sign in with yours.

if i bought a used iphone (unlocked) i would restore and then use a backup, that way his apps will be deleted and u dont need to sign out itunes

3. Nam Pla thread starter macrumors member

My friend gave me the phone today to test out. But it's still got all his info on there for now. He says before I buy it (if I buy it) he'll reset everything in the settings menu before giving it to me.