How to bypass iPhone 5 6.1.3 activation screen (PLEASE HELP)

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by katdemo, Aug 25, 2013.

  1. katdemo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    #1
    I bought the phone off of ebay (I thought it was sprint but guy completely ripped me off) I've tried using an att sim(I cut it myself:) but it keeps telling me that "The SIM card inserted in this iPhone does not appear to be supported.
    The SIM card that you currently have installed in this iPhone is from a carrier that is not supported under the activation policy that is currently assigned by the activation server. This is not a hardware issue with the iPhone.Please insert another SIM card from a supported carrier or request that this iPhone be unlocked by your carrier. Please contact Apple for more information." :[ is there ANY way i can bypass the activation screen? or a sim card i can buy to unlock it? PLEASE HELP
     
  2. Virginaustralia macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    #2
    You should be able to unlock it somewhere you might have to pay to do it but i dont think there is a bypass and i wouldnt try one just to be safe

    try this video???
    www.youtube.com/watch?v=7hk5Tm_m91Y
     
  3. katdemo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    #3
    I don't mind paying to get it unlocked, I'm just scared that it might not work :[
    and thanks for the vide but that didn't work:(



     
  4. Virginaustralia macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    #4
    It should work if you do it with a trusted person. Maybe find one locally so theres no conning you into it and you can see if it worked
     
  5. Mercenary macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    #5
    Bypassing activation isnt the issue. Your phone is provider locked. Some will unlock it but usually has to be done by the original owner via Sprint.

    Report the guy to eBay.
     
  6. katdemo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    #6
    Thanks! i actually know someone so i'll try it!


    ----------

    I have contacted him but he hasn't replied:[ and I'm not sure if it's sprint or not how would i find out what carrier it is?
     
  7. rockyroad55 macrumors 601

    rockyroad55

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    Phila, PA
    #7
    Open a case with PayPal. They'll refund you because item isn't as described.
     
  8. Mrg02d macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #8
    Do this, end of story.
     
  9. katdemo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    #9
    I have opened a case
    Thanks for the fast replies everyone!:]
     
  10. swish2351 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Location:
    Michigan
    #10
    You can take the phone to any Sprint or AT&T store (I can't remember if you need to go to the original carrier or the carrier you want) and they will unlock it for you, I believe for a fee

    Also, make sure you open a dispute with PayPal and get your money back
     
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    Nope, not that easy.
    They don't unlock for a fee.
    You need to have an account with them and have fulfilled many other things to qualify for an unlock.
    And a sprint iPhone unlock is only for international gsm use.
     
  12. katdemo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    #12
    Question:So there's no sim card i can use to get past the activation? I'm really not trying to use it for service


    ----------

    I opened one today (two days after i tried contacting the seller)
     
  13. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #13
     
  14. katdemo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    #14
    I thought it was sprint but when i took it to the sprint store they said could be a ATT&T phone took it to ATT&T and they said it was Verizon and Verizon Advised me to go back to sprint :cool:
     
  15. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #15
    I'd contact Apple.
    They will be able to tell you what carrier the phone is locked to.
    Most of these wireless company reps you went to probably didn't know what they were doing or sounds like they didn't even want to spent any time to help you out.
     
  16. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #16
    Returned it through ebay if "I thought it was sprint but guy completely ripped me off"

    So you knew it's a Sprint phone, and tried to put AT&T sim cards in it?
     
  17. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #17
    Yep, looks like another misinformed buyer that buys first and asks questions later.
    Sure, that's the cheapest iphone 5 available on ebay. That's what Im going to get:D
    It will probably work with AT&T right?:D
     
  18. Carlanga, Aug 25, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2013

    Carlanga macrumors 604

    Carlanga

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #18
    I believe the TS phone is a CDMA phone that has usa sim locked (which is why at&t doesn't work), prob. sprint do to this, but maybe Verizon.
    I think you need to tell them at sprint to activate your phone.

    If you don't want service then try getting a non-at&t/better a non-usa sim
     
  19. katdemo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    #19
    Actually I asked questions BEFORE i purchased the phone and a sprint sim card is the first thing i tried... did you guys over look the part where i said i went to sprint FIRST?... and Sorry but I didn't know $750 was cheap:confused:
     
  20. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #20
    Nowhere in the thread did you say you tried a Sprint sim card. In the first post you said you tried AT&T:

    "I've tried using an att sim(I cut it myself but it keeps telling me that "The SIM card inserted in this iPhone does not appear to be supported."

    Judging from what you said so far, it seems that the device is as described as ebay description, which is a Sprint locked phone. If that's the case you'll lose the ebay / paypal contest.

     
  21. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #21
    You said you took it to a Sprint store and they told you it might be an AT&T iphone.
    Anyway why would you buy a Sprint iphone 5 and try to use it on AT&T? Doesn't make any sense. Sprint iphones are usually the cheapest ones.
    Live and learn I guess for you from now on. If you did your homework before and you knew what you were supposed to purchase you wouldn't have to deal with ebay and paypal trying to return it to get your money back now.
    Best of luck to you though....
     
  22. katdemo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    #22
    *sighs* I went to ATT&T BECAUSE sprint told me to! Not that you helped but thanks for the advice
     
  23. ratbrain macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #23
    look at the back of the phone and look at the model number. if its a US model. 1428 its GSM and 1429 its CDMA.

    GSM = ATT / TMO
    CDMA = Sprint /Verizon

    if its a 1429 model and if you have sprint, i think you have to go to the Sprint store to activate the phone to your account to the CDMA version.

    if its a 1428 model, ATT or TMO sim should activate the phone depending which carrier its locked to.
     

Share This Page