How to externally access external drive connected to a Repeater Airport Extreme?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by sergiobaschi, Aug 27, 2014.

  1. sergiobaschi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    #1
    OK folks, this is how my network is configured:

    I have a Time Capsule with a 4 TB external HDD connected.

    I have an Airport Extreme (5th generation) connected to the network as a repeater, and a 1 TB external HDD connected.

    I want to be able to share the content of the 1 TB disk to friends and family – but not the 4 TB disk (or the Time Capsule content).

    I tried to connect using afp://myip, but then I only get the option to mount the 4 TB and the Time Capsule. But when I'm connected to my local network, the 1 TB disk appears and works flawlessly.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #2
    That is because the Extreme only has a private IP coming from DHCP and NAT on the Time Capsule.
     
  3. sergiobaschi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    #3
    Shouldn't I be able to port map to the Extreme?
     
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4

    Theoretically if you can uncover what ports are needed.
     
  5. Paratel macrumors 6502

    Paratel

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Somewhere in the US
    #5
    You could create a symbolic link of a file on your HDD. I do this for my itunes folder so my friends and family can access my library.

    http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/stream...ry-to-your-iphone-over-the-internet-mac-only/

    Use this way to create the symbolic link (this is in the article):
    The easiest way is to download and extract this droplet [Create Symbolic Link]. Drag and drop the iTunes Music folder into the droplet and it will produce a symbolic link for it with a .sym extension back to the same location. Take that link, drop it into the /Library/WebServer/Documents folder and remove the .sym from its name.

    You would need to open specific ports on your extreme. I would have to get home and see which ones im thinking 5900.
     
  6. sergiobaschi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    #6
    Thank you for your response, but it seems to me that this solution requires a computer that's always running? That's not what I'm looking for.
     
  7. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #7
    I found this and it may be of some use to you...
     
  8. sergiobaschi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    #8
    Thank you. I'll look into it when I'm back home.
     

Share This Page