How to find out you have Samsung display or LG on your macbook pro retina

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Hpye, Nov 10, 2012.

  1. Hpye macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
  2. mrvectrex macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Location:
    47N
    #2
    1. Run the command in a terminal window to see if you have LG or Samsung: ioreg -lw0 | grep \"EDID\" | sed "/[^<]*</s///" | xxd -p -r | strings -6
     
  3. Hpye thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    #3
    Color LCD
    LP154WT1-SJA1
    DCN23570B5XF49JAP

    i got this, so is it samsung or LG
     
  4. mrvectrex macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Location:
    47N
  5. Barna Biro macrumors 6502a

    Barna Biro

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Location:
    Luzern, Switzerland
    #5
    It's LG. Don't worry about it... enjoy it instead. ;)
     
  6. Hpye thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    #6
    does all the LG display has problem?
     
  7. BluAffiliate macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
  8. Hpye thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    #8
    right now i cant tell any problem from it with normal usage unless i try to find out the retention thing.
     
  9. Moshe1010 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    #9
    The "retention thing" will get worse with time. Samsung is not that great either, bad pixels all over the place. But I think that Samsung is much brighter than LG, and since I like my display to be on 100% brightness most of the time, I would not tolerate LG display.
     
  10. mohsy90 macrumors 65816

    mohsy90

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Location:
    New York
    #10
    Curious, has anyone found the terminal command to determine the make for a 13" retina? I know the above command only works for 15" rMBP.
     
  11. Moshe1010 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    #11
    No, but many sources claim that the 13" rMBP is LG only. Can't prove it or something, but maybe somebody would discover how to check the display manufacturer
     
  12. mohsy90 macrumors 65816

    mohsy90

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Location:
    New York
    #12
    I read that it was samsung, LG and sharp.
     
  13. mfram macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    #13
    I've already extracted the info from my 13 rMBP. There's no serial number and the manufacturer code is "APP". No way to know from the information the screen returns.
     
  14. gngan macrumors 68000

    gngan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    MacWorld
    #14
    That's a good thing so people wouldn't refund or exchange just because their screen is from LG. We've seen so many people doing this.
     
  15. AirThis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    #15
    Where exactly is all over the place? Can you please define that statement for me more precisely?
     
  16. Nctom macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    #16
    is this a LG or Samsung screen in my retina

    Color LCD
    LSN154YL01001
    DLM301300DBF49GBN
     
  17. troy14 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas (Summerlin), NV
    #17
    I have a 13" retina and the command doesn't work?? :rolleyes:
     
  18. JeffiJers macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Location:
    U.S.
    #18
    samsung
     
  19. Nctom macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    #19
    woot i just got it in today i was hoping it wasnt going be a LG
     
  20. gngan macrumors 68000

    gngan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    MacWorld
    #20
    I hope people refund/exchange just because it's LG screen so I can buy their refurb. Gotta love these people.
     
  21. ovation802 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #21
    how do i get to the terminal window? I know that is probably a dumb question but I googled and couldn't find out how to do it in mountain lion.
     
  22. johnnyyt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    #22
    command + space and then type terminal. it should be the first option
     
  23. Zeov macrumors 6502a

    Zeov

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    Odense
  24. rocknblogger macrumors 68020

    rocknblogger

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #25
    Be very careful using any commands in terminal. You can very easily destroy all your data just because someone thinks its fun to do that. If you ever see something somewhere post it here first and the more knowledgable members here will let you know if its safe and what it will do.

    The code posted here regarding displays is fine but overall if you aren't familiar with terminal commands you should stay away from it. That said you should either get a book or look for tutorials online about how to use the terminal. It's a very powerful tool and can be very handy when troubleshooting problems.
     

Share This Page