Become a MacRumors Supporter for $25/year with no ads, private forums, and more!

How to fix iMac G3 not booting (no CD drive)

MaxSolar0713

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 16, 2020
15
1
You've probably heard this a billion times, but I can't find any solution, so...

I have an iMac G3 (233 Mhz) That you could call tray loading, but it has no CD drive.

I can't manage to get past the infamous "?" folder, but I can remove the Hard Drive, and burn to it using my iMac G5 and an ATA to USB adapter.

I have disc images of both Mac OS 9 and X. Any of them will do.

Thank you,

Max
 

nambuccaheadsau

macrumors 68000
Oct 19, 2007
1,866
439
Nambucca Heads Australia
Disc images will not work you need to be booted from the CD to do the install and not the hard drive.

Do you mean there is no provision for the CD drive or the slot is empty with no tray? MacTracker advises all 233, 266 and 333MHz came with slot loading CDs.
 
Comment

worldvirus

macrumors newbie
Feb 17, 2016
18
30
i suspect you will need to either clone a working G3 iMac HD or temporarily attach a cd/dvd drive to do the installation.
the later iMacs had firewire which the PPC's can boot from. usb will be no go.
 
Comment

Thoradin

macrumors 6502a
May 18, 2020
654
905
Yorkshire, England
It is possible to boot the installer from a USB drive, I have done it previously on my tangerine iBook.
Make an image of the installer to the usb using your G5, then follow the instructions her to use your USB installer.

If you cannot get this to work you may be able to put the G5 into target disk mode with the installer disc in it’s drive and read from there to install to the G3, though I have never tried this method personally.
 
Comment

MaxSolar0713

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 16, 2020
15
1
Disc images will not work you need to be booted from the CD to do the install and not the hard drive.

Do you mean there is no provision for the CD drive or the slot is empty with no tray? MacTracker advises all 233, 266 and 333MHz came with slot loading CDs.

I mean that there is no cd drive unit. At all. If all else fails I may need to buy one.
 
Comment

MaxSolar0713

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 16, 2020
15
1
i suspect you will need to either clone a working G3 iMac HD or temporarily attach a cd/dvd drive to do the installation.
the later iMacs had firewire which the PPC's can boot from. usb will be no go.

Is it possible for the iMac to use a generic CD drive (or usb for that matter)?
 
Comment

worldvirus

macrumors newbie
Feb 17, 2016
18
30
I haven’t tried but I would try one of the brands apple used like pioneer/ hitachi. You may be able to find a cheap one on eBay. It’s an ATA drive rather than SATA
Edit: I don’t believe USB will work
 
Comment

MaxSolar0713

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 16, 2020
15
1
I haven’t tried but I would try one of the brands apple used like pioneer/ hitachi. You may be able to find a cheap one on eBay. It’s an ATA drive rather than SATA
Edit: I don’t believe USB will work

I know its ATA (thats the hard part.) I think I'll try a third-party drive.

Did I really just ask if USB would work? I already knew it didn't with tray-loading ones!

"Wait a minute? How did this happen, we're smarter than this!" -Obi Wan Kenobi, Revenge of the Sith.
 
Comment
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.