how to get frikn ringtones in the frikn iphone.

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by lucface, Feb 17, 2008.

  1. lucface macrumors regular

    lucface

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    #1
    as i understand there are more that a few ways to get personal(unauthorized) ringtones onto your iphone.
    I tried 3 so far:
    one was all within itunes by changing file names.., another was by using garageband, and another is using audiohijack.
    i dont have garageband and the first one didnt work for me, but this seemed
    the best (and last) method so i tried it.
    here is the directions:
    My problem is; i do it all and rename it to the m4r extension, it WILL list in my itunes ringtones folder and it WILL sync to my iphone...but its vary strange,...
    it doesnt sync the actual ringtone. instead it duplicates my ONE apple authorized ringtone i already have on my phone as many times as there are ringtones im trying to sync. so if i have 4 ring tones to sync it will duplicate my autorized ring 4 times and i play all its clones and they are the same.

    So i have em in my itunes ringtones but cant get them on my phone actually.

    does anyone know what could be the fix? or even a whole other method that is not outdated and doesnt involve garageband?
     
  2. Sirus The Virus macrumors 6502a

    Sirus The Virus

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Location:
    Texas
  3. lucface thread starter macrumors regular

    lucface

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
  4. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    I'm Evil, Dr. Evil


    Lol, nice quote...however, it seems if you have 1.1.2 on your iPhone it's much easier (wayyy easier) to put costume ringtones in the iPhone.
     
  5. lucface thread starter macrumors regular

    lucface

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    #5
    Riiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiight... but you see,.. i dont. i have 1.1.3
    and i dont want to down size. so after easy?
     
  6. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #6
    We are not so different you and I...

    same firmware, but I am willing to go down to 1.1.2 to do it...

    So Frau could you start the count down to new ringtines please?

    FIVE, FOUR, THREE.....(figure the rest out)
     
  7. lucface thread starter macrumors regular

    lucface

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    #7
    aaahhhaaha, yes

    hhhmmmm, i gota think about it. i could just jailbreak it at 1.1.3 and its the best of all worlds. i would do that before downgrading i just dont have leopard, and it wont work on tiger(ziphone).

    I dont have Leopard or garageband. im just limited.

    maybe ill wait this one out. i tried to hold out for the iphones next model. but the day before the frikn day the 16 gb came out i broke down and bought one. i prob wouldnt spend an extra hund for a stupid 8 gbs anyways. but when the apple home page came up i immediately regretted my impulsive, just got a paycheck, purchase.
    i love the thing. its just,... gime a break. its an ipod and an alarm clock and i cant at least play my music as an alarm. come frikn on.
     

Share This Page